Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
England (Horrible Histories Special)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 6 July 2017
History made fun! I love Terry Dreary's black humor. I read a lot "serious" books about history, so all in all I don't find history generally boring, but even if I did, I'm sure I still loved this book. Funny illustrations are the icing on the cake.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 November 2017
superb book for kids
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 September 2017
good condition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 July 2017
Just like the other horrible history books this delivers humour and interesting facts about our history I love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2017
My 9 year old "said this book is the best history book ever even though it was a bit sad sometimes"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 September 2017
Kids love these books, full of interesting facts.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 June 2004
'The Horrible History of England reveals the awful truth behind the rebellions, riots and rumpuses that have made England what it is today (whatever that is).
From the cruel Celts right up to the terrible 20th century it is a tale that will make you quake.

Want to know:

* which monk tried to pinch the devil's nose with a pair of tongs?
* why some people in the Middle Ages ate dove droppings?
* which English king was accused of being a werewolf?

Whether it is plague, fir and civil war, or roast beef, fish and chips and a cup of tea, if it's got anything to do with the English, it's in this book. Mull over the miseries of Middle Ages monarchs, discover ten ways to be killed down a Victorian mine, and find out which dreadful days in history to celebrate with a day off school.
History has never been so horrible!'

Standing at c 8.5" high, this is larger than the regular 'Horrible History' series of books titles.
Colourful paperback covers open to 192 matt pages split over chapters:

1. Barmy Britons
2. Island invaders
3. Miserable Middle Ages
4. Creepy country
5. Batty beliefs and curious customs
6. The revolting English
7. Terrible Tudors and slimy Stuarts
8. Cruel criminals
9. Gorgeous Georgians and vile Victorians
10. Woe for workers
11. Kruel for kids
12. Terrible 20th Century
13. What's English?
14. Awful for animals

sandwiched between an introduction and an epilogue.

Various fonts, with black and white illustrations & cartoons throughout.

'History is horrible but it is MORE horrible in some places than others. Some places have all the luck....the BAD luck. And England is one of them..............
AND the poor English have had to suffer the rain as well!.....
And here's another funny thing. Saint George wasn't even English. So why did the English pick him for their saint?'
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 June 2005
I totally disagree with the first reviewers opinion. I bought the first of Terry Deary's books seven years ago, 'The Awesome Egyptians', and I continue to be a great fan of his work. His original facts, combined with jokes and brilliant illustrations from Martin Brown, combine to make this book a truly worthwile purchase. I strongly urge you to buy this book and many others, because of its originality and humour.
An absolutely 5 star read
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 August 2013
Bought for my son, who loves all the horrible histories.
Great book, as always great for getting kids reading and learning at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 July 2014
Fantastic book. Does not miss out an inch of fact. Loved it soooooooooo much!!! Would definitely recommend it to others
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse