Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2017
Listened to these in the car was gutted they never made more than one film these fill in all the gaps
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
This is an amazing edition of the book. The three books that make up the trilogy are compiled into one big book with a beautifully illustrated cover. It is a hard back book and is brand new. I would recommend this to anyone who loves to read at home because it is rather big to carry around in your school bag all day
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2012
I'll not rehash over the story, it's fantastic and I strongly recommend any one who likes young adult fantasy books to leap on this. I can guarantee you won't be bored, and it's not one of those books we all know too well that is basically someone else's story retold. I first read this in those blurry days after Harry Potter when I was trying to find another series of young adult/magic books to get into. Whilst the 2 books are nothing similar, I still am glad I read this in the aftermath.

That aside, what I am writing this review for is to communicate how large this edition of the book is. I brought this for a friend for her birthday, and it heralded its arrival with a booming at the door and a postman bundling this large box into my arms. Opening it, I discovered a book of epic proportions, the cat's face on the front is practically life-sized! It wouldn't have put me off buying it per say, but it's a hell of book. If like me, you enjoy reading out and about then this is not the edition for you. Yet on the other hand, it does make me feel like the pagemaster pursing through this tome.... Decisions, decisions!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2017
Brilliant finale to a fantastic trilogy of books. Imaginative, thought provoking and very entertaining!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2015
This is a great collection book. It's heavy and big, the font a bit too small and the pages very thin. I really love it.
The stories are originals from a great writer. He is able to change a few details of our world and make it exquisite. I love books where the main characters are children coming of age through quests and complicate ordeals. I got this extra copy because it has the three books in just one volume.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2013
I had watched the movie The Golden Compass which was apparently based on the 1st book in His Dark Materials "Northern Lights" & wanted to find out what happens to Lyra.
The book is so much more detailed than the movie (obviously) & (some of the changes are appalling to be honest)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
Such a clever book. Intriguing fantasy for a child, but with so many underlying, thought provoking, elements for the adult.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
I was sceptical this this was a teen book and while the subject included children it was so enjoyable I rattled through the trilogy an was as when it finished. Would highly recommend
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2017
Great story. Would have preferred unabridged though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2017
Really lovely edition but the pages are quite thin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse