Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
162
4.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 October 2011
I bought this box as it was on a list of recommended books for my son in year 7. There are 20 books in the set which are: Savage Stone Age, Awesome Egyptians, Groovy Greeks, Rotten Romans, Cut-Throat Celts, Smashing Saxons, Vicious Vikings, Stormin' Normans, Angry Aztecs, Incredible Incas, Measly Middle Ages, Terrible Tudors, Slimy Stuartsm, Gorgeous Georgians, Vile Victorians, Villainous Victorians, Barmy British Empire, Frightful First World War, Woeful Second World War and Blitzed Brits. Very good value for money and helps with the curriculum, even up to GCSE. Other books in the Horrible Histories series that I would suggest you buy are Dark Knights and Dingy Castles (Horrible Histories Special) and Ruthless Romans (Horrible Histories).
11 comment| 135 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2009
A fantastic collection of some of the very best books in Terry Deary's Horrible Histories series including virtually all the favourite from Rotten Romans to Groovy Greeks.
These books are essential literature for all kids, they help teach history in a brilliantly engaging manner that excites children through it's style of picking out the 'fun' elements of history - mainly the gorey parts!
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2009
BOUGHT THIS FOR MY 9 YEAR OLD SON FOR HIS BIRTHDAY AND HE LOVES IT! EXCELLENT VALUE FOR MONEY AS IT CONTAINS NEARLY ALL THE HORRIBLE HISTORIES BOOKS. DEFINATELY RECOMEND
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2009
These books are fantastic. Never been a great fan of history, but these books have brought a new found enthusiasm for all members of the family, young and old. Its great to have them in a lovely box, all together. And what a fantastic price! I can not rave about them enough. If you have boys any age, a definate must have buy.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2009
Great for kids - especially as they are learning about many of these eras of history in school
Great service - arrive quickly and great price
22 comments| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
Please note that this is apparently the same product as "Horrible Histories Collection 20 Books Set Pack" (ASIN: B0043MCH5M). Unfortunately, I bought both for my niece in the UK (I live in Switzerland). She told me this and will now give the second box to a friend of hers.
It is not possible to see this as there are different pictures of the box and the numbers do not correspond (one is tagged with the ASIN-n°, the other with its ISBN-n°).

The books themselves are still great - but I think customers would appreciate to see that these two Collection Packs are the same.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2010
This was a great purchase for Mr 9, who loves the series, there is enough reading material here to keep him reading for weeks and weeks (hopefully anyway) - great value highly recommended
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
Excellent value for money, 20 books for £20! My son loves these books! The delivery was prompt.......an outstanding service throughout!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2016
Super books! There are simply not enough superlatives to chuck upon them. Human history is not a pleasant subject, nor is the present, and the future might even be worse, but at least we can laugh, can't we, as we exploit, cheat, injure, murder one another, singly and/or in huge numbers, either that or just rot away? Distance not only makes the heart grow fonder, but also the hurt seem not quite so bad. But oh it is, it is. Stupid deaths indeed.
review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2016
This pack of books was bought for my 8 year old granddaughter. She loves the TV programmes and therefore she was delighted with these books. Although they are written in a jokey manner and focus on grotesque details, this approach really appeals to this age group, and anything that gives children an insight to historical events cannot be bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse