Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2010
A good book about the adventures of a Celtic prince taken captive by the Romans in 84AD and used as a hostage as they build the Stanegate road just south of what would later be Hadrian's wall.

This would be a good historical account for primary school children studying the Romans in school. As an adventure it was lacking though. Some stuff happened but this was more a series of things that happened than an engaging story. Most children will probably prefer Caroline Lawrence's "Roman Mysteries", although this one backs a lot of good educational content into a small space.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Ace book. The kids in my class (Year 4 - 8 &9 years old) are absolutely gripped - especially as we are studying Roman invasions at the moment.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
My son loves all history and has a lot in this range. My son is thirteen and they are a perfect read for teenagers. My son doesn't like reading but he will read these books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2012
This is a book I would recommend to the younger reader,perhaps 12 years old or thereabouts. It wasn't what I expected to be fair so I find it difficult to appraise fairly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2016
My year 4 class love the book and we read it as part of our Romans topic. Great to contextualise and give them a sense of the era.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2014
Fantastic book to use if you want to read a story to your class. We used it at 'Book Club'. Particularly appealing to 9+ boys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2013
A great insight into the life of the common Roman soldier, a good read as are most of the books in the My Story series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Only part way through reading it and enjoying it so far. Even better because I bought it used - as good as new
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2015
Book in good condition, as advertised.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse