Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 14 January 2014
As usual Philip Pullman's work delivers a well crafted story with interesting twists and turns together with some fascinating and well researched historical background.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2017
Wow. What a book. What a trilogy. Essential reading for anyone born after 1980.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2017
A thrilling end to a trilogy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2017
A thoroughly gripping Sally Lockhart mystery.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2009
Sally is back with friends Jim and Fred she has her own business and home.

She is making her own money but when an investment she helped an old woman goes bad she sets out to recover her customer's investment and restore her good name.

Axel Bellman is behind all the bad and nastiness in this book, Axel Bellman is a sucessful but evil businessman Sally tries unsucesfully at first to recover the money but soon learns what Bellman is up to with help from Jim and Fred will Sally get the money and stop Bellman or has trio meet their match in Victorian England.

This is the second book in the set of four the mist filled streets of of Victorian England comes to life through the words of Phlilp Pullman if you enjoyed Ruby In The Smoke this story will draw you back into Sally's world of danger and adventure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 September 2009
I bought this book as one of a 'trilogy'. Very good writer and a book that is hard to put down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 26 September 2012
This is a fabulous read.
Pure and simple Philip Pullman writes wonderful books with wonderful plots.
This is a follow up to The Ruby in the Smoke and I really would encourage you to read that splendid book first to get the maximum enjoyment out of this wonderful tale.
True this is a sequel but it is a fabulous story in its own right.

I am amazed that this book is inteneded for children- I as an adult really enjoyed reading this fabulous tale of mystery, corruption murder greed Victorian Violence and Sally Lockheart.

Pullman really knows his stuff the plot and story lines are reviewed well by other reviwers so I will focus on the background to the books.
It is set in Victorian London and that my friends means the underbelly and seedy side of London Life- Jim and Fred now run a detective Agency and my they really know how to get tooled up when violence threatens.
Knuckledusters and 'night sticks are used' and when the opponents use a knife they have no hesitation in smashing the assailents face in with a cosh and kicking him in the nadgers when he is down- so he won;t be getting up in a hurry nor reproducing either.
Jim and Fred never escape unharmed either, broken teeth, black eyes and broken bones aboud.
Sally plays her part well and there are wonderful side characters who are never what they seem and villens abound like hornets when the hive is threatened.

Wonderful stuff and not just for kids.
Recommended 100 per cent.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 August 2001
After reading Pullman's "His Dark Materials" trilogy I decided this summer to read Pullman's four books about Sally Lockhart set in Victorian England and I'm glad I did. The books are an excellent read, and Pullman has enough changes in each book to stop them becoming repetitive.
This is the second book of the four, in which Sally, Jim and the rest of the group encounter big business and the arms trade, and battle to stop a sinister weapon being built in northern England. There are real surprises and shocks in this gripping story.
0Comment| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 August 2007
This is the second in Pullman's Sally Lockhart trilogy, the sequel to The Ruby in the Smoke. I made the mistake of reading this one first; each of the books contains big spoilers for the previous one, so I strongly recommend they are read in order.

This is another absolute masterpiece from Pullman, but rather darker than its predecessor. The Ruby in the Smoke talked about greed, desire and stupidity; The Shadow in the North addresses the question of evil face on.

Sally has begun to make a name for herself in business, an incredible achievement for a Victorian woman, and to drag Frederick Garland's photography company back from chaos and near-bankruptcy. A seemingly innocent enquiry by a client about a sunken ship and an apparently genuine clairvoyant leads Sally, Fred and Jim off on another trail of deceit and trechery, leading across Europe, and into the very heart of the British government.

If The Ruby in the Smoke was Pullman's homage to Conan Doyle, this one has a lot more of the Wilkie Collins about it. The plot is just beautiful: neatly complex and tight, twisting and with a sting in its tail that has reduced me to tears both times I've read it. There is a sense of justice and moral certitude in his writing that is deeply satisfying. If there is really a better storyteller than Pullman in England right now, I don't know about them.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2000
Another astounding book by Philip Pullman. His way of capturing his audience is extraordinary. The book, as his others, is quite complicated - but without knowing it, you follow everything. This book carries on from the trilogy starting with,'The Ruby in the Smoke' It stars a young defiant lady called Sally Lockhart who, in the last book, joined up with Frederick Garland, a good natured photographer. He stars in this book along with a number of familiar characters from the first book.In their spare time, they are detectives - this sounds very tacky and unoriginal but in this story it is extremely realistic. The story is set in London in the late 1800s. It is excellent and leaves you in tears at places. I highly reccomend it to any children aged between 12-15.
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse