Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 April 2008
Thirteen-year-old Claudia is more fortunate than many of the people living in the Roman city of Pompeii in the year AD 78. Her father is a successful businessman who owns a bakery. As a result, the family is able to own their own home and have slaves to help them out. But Claudia is often not content with her life. She would much rather write in her diary then learn about the duties of a Roman housewife from her mother.

Besides her unhappiness at learning household tasks, Claudia also has more serious worries. The city experiences several small earthquakes, and there are omens and prophecies of doom. Claudia fears something stirs in Mount Vesuvius, which looms over Pompeii. And all she can do is wait and wonder what is to become of herself, her family and friends, and the city she has lived in her entire life.

Written in the form of Claudia's diary, this book brings to life the final year before Pompeii's destruction during the eruption of Mount Vesuvius, although at times the language seemed a bit modern for a diary written by a girl in ancient times, the book still does a good job at accurately describing both the everyday life of a middle class girl in ancient Rome and the events leading up the disaster. Readers who enjoyed other books in the My Story series are sure to enjoy this fascinating look into a place and time long gone but not forgotten.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
Pompeii is a brilliant story and it has a lot about the real eruption of Vesuvius in August AD79. I know a lot about the eruption from other books but learnt more from this as it is told from a normal person's view. I also recommend all the other 'My Story' books and if you are a tomboy, read the Princess of EgyptPrincess of Egypt (My Story): An Egyptian Girl's Diary, 1490 BC
11 Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2009
My daughter read this very quickly and loved it..it gives a real face to history, helping readers to empathise with the fictional character... A great way to raise interest in history.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2016
It started out slow, but got interesting about halfway through the book, when Claudia meets a slave English boy who has been separated from his sister and later sold as a gladiator. Claudia gets quite attached to the boy, not able to go the gladiator shows for fear of seeing him get hurt. She also has what seems to be an unreasonable fear of the mountain Vesuvius.

Only Vesuvius is actually a volcano, one that is getting ready to erupt after many years of sleep. Several earthquakes that shook Pompeii were signs of this occurrence happening, but back then, no one knew of the relation between earthquakes and volcano eruptions. The inevitable destruction that takes place is quite sad, and the human story involved allowed us a more profound look into this event in history.

I enjoyed it very much despite the slow start.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
I thought that pompeii was extremly good and it gave a interesting account of life as a roman it was so exciting when the ash came raining down i really felt as if i was there and felt so sorry for them
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2014
Claudia in Ad78, daughter to parents who were once slaves, keeps a diary of events leading up to the famous volcanic eruption of Vesuvius. This book gives a great insight into the Roman way of life in those times and Claudia's story makes very interesting reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
Bought this for my 11 year old daughter to read before our trip to Pompeii. My mom and I both read it also. Well written, interesting story about life in Pompeii and the famous Mount Vesuvius eruption. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2015
The boo Pompeii is very hooking. I read it every night for about half an hour. Especially at the end it is very tense. The hole book is amazing and, just hard to put down! :-D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2013
thanks, christmas present for friend into everything Pompeii and Herculaneum, nice alternative perspective to the more factual, non-fiction stories, hope she likes it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2013
Chosen by my niece for her birthday. As a keen historian the book is a good way to put a human face on a real historical event.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse