Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
42
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2003
This book contains 8 short stories: Lord Arthur Savile's Crime, The Canterville Ghost, The Model Millionaire, The Young King, The Fisherman and His Soul, The Portrait of Mr W.H, (and 2 stories for children:) The Happy Prince, and The Devoted Friend.
I always like the style of Wilde's writing. His is not so hard to read and the language is beautiful, you can quote so many.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 1999
After his plays, Wilde's best work is undoubtedly his short stories. More free flowing than 'A Picture of Dorian Grey,' these stories for adults are thoroughly entertaining whilst showing the extent of their author's genius.
If you like the short stories of Dahl or Forsyth, Wilde's jovial and surprising stories are even better.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2014
You can have too much of the Wilde side, which can blunt the wit-edge a bit, but the price is right and returning to this after a gap of just a few decades, I realised just how much he's influenced contemporary writers, either first- or second-hand. The Canterville Ghost keeps haunting other stories in a variety of media (definitely no pun intended). The last story - The Portrait of Mr W H - is untypically long-winded, almost as if the fiction is a vehicle for Wilde's own research project into the dark lady of the sonnets and makes at least one reader (eg me) want to go further into the background to see if this was a genuine insight or Wilde's mickey-take on some of his contemporary's obsessions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2000
This is an unabridged interpretation of Oscar Wilde's witty shories. Among them, Canterville Ghost stands out as the best. The narrator's reading, coupled with characters' parts performance, making the story enjoyable all around.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2015
Can't rave about Oscar Wilde the way some do, I guess it's a matter of taste. I'm too often left with the impression he after a good quote rather than a good story. Buy it, read it and make up your own mind.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2011
The book itself is ingenious, it opens cleverly and closes just as well!
And the story and the writing are just as stunning. Wilde tells a light and humorous story, complete with traditional Wilde quips and outrageous action!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
Who wouldn't be delighted to find the public domain list of FREE classic literature. This is fantastic. All the titles I've always wanted to read and for free - this is my kind of kindle heaven. I love the way they arrive on your kindle, they're so quick, it's like magic. Thank you public domain!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Sometimes I think writers like Wilde are feted for their lifestyles and gain reputation for a few good books. This is not the best or wittiest Wilde book but is an ok read for free. At least it gives an insight into a world long gone
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2013
All well written, obviously. the first story (book title) was the most entertaining, the second was fine and i only scraped to the end of the last - but this might be due to my unfamiliarity with the sonnets; perhaps more scholarly types would appreciate this last story more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
When trying to access the book on my device, the only options I got to log in were in Spanish. As I don't have a Spanish email account I could not get past this point.
Had this book not been free, I would have been more annoyed.
Not a pleasant experience for a technophobe...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)