Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
10
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 June 2017
Really love this book and so does the child I bought it to read with, a reluctant chapter-book reader this is like a half-way house, Ahlberg at his quirkiest best. Bought it as 'used' and certainly has been very well used.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2003
Another wonderful book from Allan Ahlberg, which has just had my 4 year old daughter and I enthralled and giggling way past her bed time. Mrs. Gaskitt and her family unwittingly solve another crime as in Ahlberg's The Man Who Wore All His Clothes, and their expliots are told in a simple, easy to read style. It is clever, amusing and original style which means starting readers (and their parents!) can appreciate the humour even if it is read slowly! The child can read bits of the text, such as the comments of the animals and inanimate objects such as the post box:"Good evening, Mrs. Gaskitt!" or a very short chapter while you supply the rest. The characters are hysterical: we loved the accident-prone teacher and the bickering cats in particular. This is a book we will return to for months to come and I look forward to her reading it to her little brother when the time comes. After endless Princess and Tweenies stories this is a real treat for me too!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2007
The woman who won things by allan ahlberg. The bits I like are hilarious. The cats are very very cheeky and cute'Gus and Gloria are great kids.I thought Mrs.Plum was quite naughty, in fact Mrs.Plum was very very naughty!!It was really funny when every time the door opened then DING!! a kiss! on every postman, window cleaner and milkman except one who said "thanks miss!!". I loved it when the bucket of water fell on Mrs.Gaskitt's head. The cats where playing playing cards... I'm so glad Mrs. Gaskitt fell on Mrs.Plum because guess what... well you'll just have to read it and find out what happens!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
My daughter enjoyed this book from her favourite author, very fun & lots happening! Bought a copy for the class to enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2012
My son loves The Gaskitt Family. This is his favourite book of the series. The story is quite enjoyable and in particular, the kind-faced but naughty Mrs. Plum who stole things. He loves Horace the cheeky cat too. Great read for a 5 year old boy!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2012
This series of books has my 6 and 10 year olds laughing out loud - they are brilliant and if you haven't read any of the Gaskitt family books yet then please do!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Great book for children and adults. Fun to read to your children. Lovely story. Really enjoyed it and recommend it to anyone who has a child.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2014
Hilarious story. I love these books! So do my kids. These are the sort of books you want your kids to read. Good stories. Good values.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2015
Can't beat an Ahlberg tale
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2014
very funny
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here