Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
32
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 April 2017
Makes you remember what growing up is all about, making new discoveries and friendships. Even though it's a short story I found it really absorbing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 13 November 2012
This book was originally written for The Readers Organisation, a charity whose aim is to promote reading. In 2011, The Readers Organisation distributed 50,000 giveaway copies, across the UK.
More recently, it was announced as the winner of the Guardian Children's Fiction Prize 2012.
Inspired by a real event (the Afterword explains all), the plot is about two refugee boys trying to adapt to school in Liverpool, with the help of Julie, a girl who befriends them. The story is narrated by Julie as she recollects the events that occurred during the last summer at primary school,
Enhanced with colour photographs, the story gradually reveals the mystery and fear surrounding the two boys.
This is a quirky short book with an affecting and intriguing story. The combination of story and photos make the story feel quite real and I was thinking about it for ages afterwards. It's aimed at younger readers, although readers of all ages will enjoy it and I think it could create plenty of discussion (and explanations) in the classroom.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 August 2015
This man is a master story teller, there is no doubt of that. This is a tale which has the arrival of two Mongolian boys - brothers Chingis and Nergui -at a Merseyside school, as its hook; but it's actual central character is a kind warm hearted teenage girl, Julie, classmate to the said boys.

The two boys at first are strange, cold and surly, but for one reason and another, they eventually open up to Julie, and by virtue of that to their teacher and classmates. They introduce Julie and the class to strange folk-tales and superstitions, and this is used to make the story roll along; whether the boys use and know they are using metaphors to tell their tale or whether it is coincidental to what is really going on, well, you'll have to read that to find out. Rather oddly, Polaroid photographs play a very large part in this.

Overall the story is slight, but that's not a criticism, the slightness and novella status rather than it being a full length novel keeps it all bright and breezy and engaging.

There is also a very real parallel to this, but I am sure you would prefer to read that when / if you get this.

Three big scousy cheers to F C B.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2011
A brilliant read, very entertaining and well written. Although a child's book I was taken right back to my school days and the memories of making friends with strangers in class and the quirkyness of children. I hadn't heard of or read any previous work by Frank Cottrell Boyce but I will certainly look for his other books with relish. As a fellow scouser he portrayed the warmth and generosity of our people and City excellently.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2016
The Unforgotten Coat is an engaging, if slight, story for the 9-12 age group, revolving around Mongolian asylum seekers in Bootle – a quirky angle for a quirky and nicely understated narrative. The Mongolian brothers Chingis and Nergui are a fascinating and enigmatic pair – it’s their book along with Julie O’Connor the year 6 narrator who is designated as their ‘good guide’, a job title she does her honest best to live up to. This is one of those stories in which you learn stuff without being taught.
The presentation of the book in a kind of ruled-paper notebook style with glued-in polaroids is very eye-grabbing. It certainly points to the way in which design in children’s books – even those for older children – is increasingly becoming as important as content, an inevitable by-product of an age in which older, stiller media such as books struggle to compete with the manic sound and vision overload that is the online world. Overall, a simple but effective story with a touching conclusion (both in words and photograph).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2011
A heart warming and enthralling tale that, although strictly speaking a children's book, I'd recommend to everyone. For me the sign of a good book is one that moves you and also leaves you wanting to know more, this was a hit on both counts. I found it engaging and un-put-downable and will definitely be looking to find out more about both Mongolia and also the experiences of children from other countries who come to live in the UK.

Although it would be unfair to take away from my rating based on the medium, I do think it is one book that would be better in physical form as I found the impact of the pictures was diminished by the size and black and white of the kindle screen.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2013
Read in one sitting. I bought it for a present but kept it for myself. I just like having it on the bookshelf so I can pass it on to the right person. Perfect book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2011
Of course you'll think I am biased: I commissioned Frank to write this book. No, that's not right! He came up to me and said 'How about I write a book for you?' He didn't mean me personally, he meant for our charity The Reader Organisation. What a gift! So of course I said 'Yes please - what will it be about?'

And Frank began to think and to imagine and to remember... and eventually, after his writer's heart'n'brain had been whirring and buzzing and dreaming and feeling and scheming for a couple of months - out came The Unforgotten Coat.

Of course I am biased but that doesn't mean a thing!

The Unforgotten Coat is a wonderful story about friendship and strangeness and dreaming and being afraid and surviving... And it is about making yourself at home in the big wide world, and being a good mate (and the rules of football)and how brothers look after each other.Read it for Frank's funny dialogue and tender comedy.

The brilliant pictures are worth a long hard stare, too - is that a Mongolian mountain I see before me, or a Liverpool scrapheap?

Thanks Frank - what a gift!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Such a dependable author with good language use and an approach to children's writing that promotes development; All that said what a good read!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2012
Well written, entertaining book but with a sensitivity not often found in books for this age group. Would recommend it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£5.99
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here