Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
How To Be a Detective
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 4 December 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
When I was a youngster I was given a kit that allowed me to pretend to work in a Post Office; I would stamp parcels, give out money, make people queue for hours. I had the tools to work in a Post Office, but I didn't know what I was meant to do. `How to be a Detective' has taken this idea, but put it towards being a detective and although the various pieces of equipment may not be on offer, you do get a lot of genuinely useful information on how to be a detective from finger print analysis to building up a profile of your suspects.

`How to be a Detective' is an incredibly informative piece of nonfiction and will suit the sort of absorbent child who loves to read absolutely everything on the page. To increase their excitement Dan Waddell has included loads of pockets and hidden areas that give the book an interactive feel; `The Jolly Postman', but with fewer letters and more analysis of crime procedure. There is an impressive amount of data in this book that could act as a catalyst to create many future police officers.

One area that is slightly lower standard is some of the illustrations by Jim Smith. The quality of pictures are more naïve than the book itself. The paper is of a high gloss and looks really good, a shame that the mini detective on it looks like a poor man's Inspector Clouseau. Despite some of the piccys not being brilliant, `How to be a Detective' is still a great book for inquisitive minds.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 November 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
The book is bright, cheery and attractive, a good interactive book with loads of flaps that made it more interesting and great fun. Everyone really enjoyed all the investigations and experiments of which there is a least one on every double page.

The mystery you need to solve is on a pull-out at the front of the book. It was a little too quick and simple for the two older children (aged 10 and 12) who wished that there had been a more in-depth mystery with various fingerprints, writing styles, footprints etc in various scenes/snapshots around the crime. There is a fact file dossier of police information for them to use and there are other clues and witness statements for them to think about too - using more of the skills learnt throughout the book. The finger printing kit is included but you will need supply a lipstick, plaster of Paris for making a footprint and plenty of colouring pencils.

There was stuff in the book the 5 year old could do and enjoy yet enough stuff to interest the 10 and 12 year old.

N.B. The whole family will be fingerprinted, made to wear lipstick for mouth printing and loads more - great unless you are a the criminal!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
This is a highly illustrarted hardback packed with activites on how to do "detective" work. My son and I found it enjoyable up to a point, when it become too much hard work to carry out what felt like pointless activities.

With this mind, the book feels more like a book on the "nerdy" side of the detective work, rather than the "fun" side.

It looks good though and it has a lot of pullouts, popups and other unexpected bits along the way. Don't expect to finish it in one sitting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 23 November 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
A great book, I was so impressed I ordered another for little boys cousin who loves it

Book is A4 type size and has little bits that interact with the book.

I gave the book to my 8 year who has fancied him self as a James Bond type character, he preceded to analyze areas of the house, taped up the kitchen door with brown tape and Crime scene written across the tape, he was there deep in thought with his toy gun stuffed in the back of his trousers.

A great book, ideal gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 14 October 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
`How to be a Detective', a lift the flap interactive book designed to turn children into investigators. It's a CSI instruction manual for children.

It has a detective's dictionary, pages on how to analyse a crime scene, an explanation of fingerprints (including built in ink pad), tracks and traces of what the criminal might leave behind, how to follow and watch a suspect, body language, how to spot a crook and ever a bit on handwriting analysis.

Give the book to a 7 year old and watch him work through it. The first I knew of it was that my bedroom was suddenly a crime scene and off limits to me. Secondly I found that I was being analysed, samples and evidence taken from me for further examination and then being profiled (there's a chapter on that).

There was also a lot of notebook filling in; one appeared with the words, no mums, dads, crooks, sisters, grandpas or grandmas, top secret.
The most amazing thing I found was how he profiled a number of his teachers with distinguishing marks, namely tattoos. I was amazed by how many have them.

I like the book; I think it is aimed squarely 7+ age group, in hardback it is robust and really nicely illustrated. Though the language may be challenging to a greater or lesser degree, children with good literacy skills will get a lot of enjoyment out of this book.

The book encourages children to do fun stuff, full marks from me.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 16 December 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
In cartoon style identical to the cover this is quite a grown up "lift the flaps" book for children of about 7+ I would say. The book includes all you need to make a periscope, as well as an ink pad for finger prints. It's all good fun stuff with plenty of "how to" detective tips, eg making invisible ink from lemon juice,and a footprint from plaster of paris (trip to the craft shop required. There are also lots of little mini-books within the book eg the rules of surveillance and how to make a wanted poster.

My eight year old enjoyed this book, however she struggled a bit to read the handwritten bits "from the casebook of sherlock holmes" and neither of us could actually solve the pull out detective case from the front of the book - luckily the answer as to whodunnit is hidden in the book. All in all a nice interactive and interesting book that is quite well done and interesting for a confident free-reader. Recommended.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 100 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 21 November 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
From the moment I gave this book to my eight year old son, he was immediately engaged with it. There is an introductory letter from Sherlock Holmes in the front cover, plus a case to investigate (The Case of the Missing Moaning Jenny) and loads of things to make and do - from a cut out periscope to fingerprinting. This great book has flaps and 'things to do' on every page - how to analyse a crime scene, take fingerprints, investigate those footprints that pesky thief may have left beneath the window, rules of surveillance, alibis and how to make a Wanted poster. It is often difficult to find books that interest and delight boys of 7+, but this is certainly a winner. Great fun and would make a fantastic present - sure to be of interest long after those more expensive toys have been played with and discarded...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 21 November 2012
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I remembered trying to be a spy/detective when i was younger making my parents hand over fingerprints and trying to dust talc everywhere and sticky tape use beyond belief so couldnt wait to see how this book lived up to my memories of being a kid.
i wasnt disapointed , the overall look of the book is bright and encourages the child to open and enjoy ( just as i did)the illustrations used through out are fabulous and fun and the way things are written are easy to understand and read for any child who enjoys reading and i would say this is aimed at approx 8 and above.
inside the cover theres a letter from sherlock homes in a neat little envelope as well as a press out ink pad ( great start as i never had one ), the second page has a large file to open which contains detective tools, these include mirror card, a top tips poster and how to make a periscope.the rest of the pages all have lifting flaps etc with other exciting info like how to analyse a crime scene, lip and shoe prints, disguise,surveillance and so much moreit even shows you how to make invisible ink. i think id be hard pushed to hand this over to any child !!! oh to be 8 again
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2013
Format: Hardcover|Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
My 8 year old son went through the roof for this book. He wasn't overly impressed when I first gave it to him, but as soon as he opened it up and realised how completely interactive it is, and how many cute little hidden extras it has, he fell in love with it and became our house detective! He has perpetrated numerous crimes around the house to see if any of us have the deductive powers to solve them. It has fired his imagination in a way that few other books have and it is great to see him having this much fun with a book. If you have a child who is imaginative but need the occasional nudge, and you think they would have even the smallest inkling of interest in the subject matter, buy this immediately. I'm so pleased with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
I bought this at my daughters request. She is 7 and a good reader and has had hours of fun reading all the information. There is lots of flaps to lift up and lots of information to read. The only downside I would say is that in making the periscope the instructions were terrible and so we abandoned it which left my daughter a bit disapointed. Nice book though and worth the money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse