Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
33
4.7 out of 5 stars


on 17 October 2016
This book was one of my sons favourite bedtime story books as he grew up. I must have read it a hundred plus times! I thought my new grandson might enjoy his daddy reading an old favourite to him. The book is very well illustrated. The story is a lesson on being different, bullying and overcoming these issues in your own way. It is reassuringly repetitive and is easy to learn. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2017
Lovely story with lots of discussion points to use in a classroom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2007
This is a lovely book. Perfect for children from around 6 to 9 - as the humour and situations better fit the slightly older child's humour and experience.

Willy decides to change the way he looks (from wimp to muscle-bound!)as a result of being bullied. He works out, eats a special diet and, over time, achieves his dream. He eventually saves a girl gorilla from the bullies (who run away at the mere sight of him). However, what the book emphasises beautifully is that, while he has changed the way he initially appears to others, he is still the same caring (and a bit silly!) gorilla inside.

A lovely book for encouraging children to look beyond appearances. It also offers a wonderful message that we CAN change, with determination and commitment.

A lovely, funny and uplifting book!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
This book is a really funny story for young children. The pictures are brilliant and will make both the parents as well as young children have a good belly laugh. Little Willy constantly apologises for everything and this has caused him to be bullied. The other children begin calling him a wimp and is fed up with this. He answers an advert to change and not be a wimp any longer. The results are that the needs to change his diet, exercise and becomes very large and strong. He walks down the road and sees the bullies attacking Millie and he saves her which makes her very happy.
Willy walks away from Millie being very confident and pleased with himself and then manages to bump into a pole and ends up apologising to the pole.

It is a fun story for young children and they will be sure to laugh. The facial expressions on both Willy and Millie are very funny.

I was given this book by Walker Publishers for review purposes and will forward it on to my daughter who is a trainee teacher at a SEN school. I am sure they will love it and it will bring many smiles to the children.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 31 August 2017
This is an interesting book which I wasn't expecting to like as much as I now do. This special anniversary edition of the book is in paperback, about A4 in width and square in shape. Inside there are glossy, thick pages with colourful illustrations and text. 'Willy the Wimp' is a simple story which seems a bit silly but at the same time has a great message which may have been lost on a few reviewers.

Willy wouldn't hurt anybody, not even a fly, but no matter what, the suburban gorillas still call him 'Willy the Wimp'. Willy hates being called a wimp, and one day he reads an advert in a newspaper which promises to change everything. The book has such a simple story, Willy answers a body-building advert and follows all the rules to get fit and strong. The plot may seem simple and at first it seems silly that Willy goes through changes in order to deal with the gorillas, however, those that look at the book's ending more carefully will realise that it's a brilliant story of overcoming the bullies by doing something that makes you feel better and more confident, and feeling happy with who you are.

The illustrations in this book are good and funny and show the story well. Some of the illustrations do look a bit silly though such as the gorillas, who are body building. They look so silly that it made me laugh.

I do like the ending, there's a very funny dialogue between Willy and Millie which itself made me laugh, and the last page is funny too! The ending is satisfying and I think plenty of kids will really enjoy this book. Whether they'll get the subtle message in the story without an adult pointing it out though I'm not so sure, but this is definitely a book worth reading with kids particularly those who may be dealing with self-confidence issues.
-Thanks to Walker Books for a free copy (as part of The Anthony Browne Collection).
review imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 September 2017
This book is hilarious, witty and fun for all the family. Willy is classed as a wimp by those that know him; he's so nice he even worries about stepping on minuscule bugs he can't even see as he walks down the street. But Willy doesn't want people to keep saying he's a wimp - so he dabbles in some body building!

The progression of this short story from limp chimp to super-sized hero is fantastic. Each element of his training and change is showcased in a funny, colourful way. And what a nice message too - you can be whoever you want to be if you put yourself out there!

A really nice book. The images are quite sparse rather than filling the page entirely with colour, but overall a really great addition to the Willy collection.

ARC provided free from the publishers in exchange for an honest review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 September 2017
Distinctive artwork from Browne with his gorillas in full force here. Willy is a slight chap, mocked as a 'wimp', and he vows to do something about it - when he sees a bodybuilding advert.

Can Willy change his body, his self-confidence?

A great little tale, with a funny ending that my son laughed at. I love the clothes and ape world of Browne's creation. This is a very quick story to read, easy for bedtimes and for young readers to manage.

A lesson in taking control of your own life and believing in yourself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2017
Disappointing to see a childrens story reinforce the sexist gender stereotypes of get muscles and girls will like you, eurgh!
11 Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
This book is great for children and adults. The pictures are really lovely with lots of attention to detail. However, unrelated to this it would be even greater great if Amazon would PAY THEIR FAIR SHARE OF TAX in the UK so others won't have to suffer further cuts in services, schools, public transport, housing etc. Please Amazon, behave more responsibly and contribute to a fairer society.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2010
My two year old loves these books - easy to read to her, as there is not a lot of writing on each page, and beautiful illustrations. Keeps her attention very well!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Silly Billy
£6.99
Gorilla
£5.99
The Tunnel
£4.90

Need customer service? Click here