Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Pink Shop now Shop Now

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
13
4.0 out of 5 stars
Willy the Champ (Willy the Chimp)
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 25 July 2016
This is a story about a gorilla who doesn't fit in and then hits the bully... (By accident) when the bully tried to punch him. Then becomes the champ. Not one to advocate violence. Not appropriate for children in my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2015
Very old copy, bad condition and is clearly a school library book as it has the shelf number on the side and 'verhooved
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2017
I'm not sure what to think of this book. I'm not a massive fan of the Willy the Chimp books although I've come to enjoy quite a few of them. 'Willy the Champ' is a story which seems a bit similar to 'Willy the Wimp'. The paperback is quite small, around A4 in it's width (if you hold an A4 sized paper upright) although shorter than A4 in height. It's filled with thick and glossy pages which themselves have lots of very colourful images.

The story starts by showing us what Willy likes to do, listen to music, read and visit the park with his friend Millie. But Willy isn't really good at anything that the gorillas are good at. He tries to be sporty, like them, and do what they are good at such as bike racing and football but Willy isn't like the others. Plenty of kids could easily relate to Willy's character in this book, I certainly wasn't the sporty type at school and I can instantly recognise that feeling of not being good at anything the other kids are good at. The story is very short and it seems like Willy won't be good at anything until he faces a bully called Buster Nose.

The way Willy deals with Buster Nose is funny and it's an okay ending to the book, but this just didn't seem as good a story as other Willy books I've read. Any message of standing up to a bully and managing to overcome them in this way seems to be lost a little in this tale and I'm not sure a lot of kids would understand any message the book has, instead enjoying the basic story and pictures more.

I like the illustrations. There are funny and many of the pages have a surreal feel to them such as a gorilla in the park taking a banana for a walk! I do like all the pictures though the way that some of the gorillas look in the pool or Buster Nose himself are a bit strange. The book was originally printed in the 80s though and some of the strange outfits of the gorillas in the books might be due to that.

Although I like the illustrations, I just didn't like this story as much as the other Willy books I've read and I'm not sure all kids would enjoy this book.
-Thanks to Walker Books for a free copy (as part of the Anthony Browne Collection).
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2017
Willy is finding it difficult to work out what he is good at. He tries his hand at football, swimming and even cycling. He spends time with his friend Millie trying all sorts of different activities but doesn't seem to be that great at anything. One day he is walking down the road and all the other children in the neighbourhood become afraid of a large shadow. Willy just stays in the same spot and them a big gangster type scary figure is standing in front of him. This large chimp is called Buster Nose. He tries to punch Willy and he ducks out of the way and ends up punching Buster. Buster runs home to his mother and the other chimps declare Willy a Champ. Willy eventually feels like his a champ.

I received this book from Walker Publishers for review purposes. My daughter is a trainee teacher at a SEN school where I am sure the children there will love the book. It has great pictures that are clear to see, bright and vibrant and show the story in great detail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 September 2017
Little readers can find an unsuspecting hero in Willy the chimpanzee. This particular story sees Willy facing off against Buster Nose, a bigger, bolder and butt-uglier monkey that throws a punch at Willy. But sometimes being the smartest opponent is more important than being the burliest!

This picture book is full of colour, relatively mature narrative for its audience and cleverly introduces some new themes for adults to discuss with children such as bullying, being different and so on. A really important book for any young readers collection.

Plus Willy is easily one of the more likeable children's picture book stars!

ARC provided free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 September 2017
A very relatable character, Willy isn't particularly stand-out at anything - he reads but isn't good at football, cycles but isn't great at bike racing. One day a bully tries to intimidate and hit Willy...

Can Willy stand up for himself? It's a great lesson for children about how to deal with bullies.

You empathise with little Willy, and cheer when he finds his inner strength. Very useful sort of book to have to bring up this subject with children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
This is a humourous tale from brilliant children's author and fascinating illustrator Anthony Browne depicting overcoming diversity and celebrating individuality. The central character is quite bookish/nerdlike/homely/gentle and has a female friend he goes around with who he relates to really well.He uses his intelligence to deal with the worst bully while others find dealing with bullies quite difficultother animals respect him and his uniqueness after that.

This is good for PSCHE discussions and discussions about the illustrations are always interesting. The only difficulty is the size of the book, it is quite small, so if teaching a large group of children, ones at the back will have difficulty in seeing the illustrations. Good for small group or one to one. All Anthony Browne books are just great you can get much mileage out of them.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2013
This is another of Anthony Browne's stories about the character Willy. It has a super message for children and the illustrations are a delight as always.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Another brilliantly illustrated book about Willy the unassuming chimp who keeps trying to fit in. An absolute favourite with kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2013
I bought this for a literacy lesson for my class. It delivered everything I hoped it would. An excellent story.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Little Beauty
£6.99
The Tunnel
£3.99

Need customer service? Click here