Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
83
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£9.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 September 2002
I've forgotten many of the books I delighted in as a child, but this handsome hardback volume caught my eye, reminding me of that past world. Although I still have my original paperback, I just could'nt resist Inga Moore's illustrations - who could? There are plenty of them, printed on quality paper, conjuring up the safety and warmth of Mr Badger's underground kitchen, the tranquility of Toad Hall, sited in quiet elegance on the edge of a backwater or the eerie solitude of Mole's abandoned dwelling broken by shy, giggling field-mice in their red woolen scarves. Forget today's insipid creations and expensive merchandise, they will never be as enjoyable as contemplating two young hedgehogs eating porridge from wooden bowls or the embarassment of ferrets that don't wash their clothes regularly.
Oh, and children will love it, too!
0Comment| 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2007
Firstly, if you wish to read to complete book as originally written by Kenneth Grahame, please note that the text has been abridged and therefore this edition is ideally suited to a younger readership who might find some of the original early prose slightly dated and off-putting. That having been said, this is a sensitively edited version and would make a super introduction to one of the finest books in the English language.

The real triumph is the quality of the ilustrations by Inga Moore. They are, quite simply, superb!

The original illustrator, EH Shepherd (also of Winnie the Pooh fame) portrayed the characters of this book so well that it would seem pointless to try to emulate his protrayal of Toad, Mole, Ratty and Badger. Inga Moore has a wonderful lightness of touch and empathy with the characters that is so wholly in keeping with the spirit of the tale and her contibution can only be described as magnificent. Her skill in capturing the feel of the text and the beauty of the illustrations has to be seen to be believed. Recommended without reservation.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2010
This book is not just abridged, it is altered from the original text. As such, it should be considered to be only a part of the story as originally envisaged by Kenneth Grahame. The language has been modernised away from the original. This may make it easier to read by younger readers, but it removes some of the magic of the original.

Do NOT buy this book if you want Kenneth Grahames' original text, you will be disappointed. The illustrations are good, but would have been better if accompanying the original text.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2009
Well, this is a coin of a black and a white side.
First of all, this edition is ABRIDGED - 8 chapters instead of 12 (mostly last ones missing). Lots of paraphrased sentences are also a mud stain on the book. All that made the book useless for myself.
However, if these aren't much of a trouble for you, you will enjoy the reading, the illustrations and the spirit of the book!
So, make your choice!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2014
What a beautiful book. The story is exactly what I expected - not the full original story but really well edited to create this child friendly narration. The illustrations are exquisit. I would have paid the money just to see the pictures. This is the kind of book you could give to a child or adult ( who wants to re-live the joy they found as a child when reading this book), Its a real keeper so whoever you buy it for - even yourself - it will forever have a place in the bookcase. Im really thrilled with my purchase and Im sure the recipient will be too.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2008
The Wind in the Willows is one of the all-time classic books. It is an evocative, haunting, pleasurable and sentimental treat. The illustrations by Inga Moore are simply stunning and complement perfectly the text by Kenneth Grahame. Many fine and outstanding artists have illustrated the book such as Michael Hague, Michael Foreman, Ernest Shepherd, Patrick Benson and Justin Todd. However, none have surpassed these sensitively drawn pictures with their range of colourful hues.
This book ranks along such classics as Black Beauty, the Alice books, Treasure Island, The Hobbit, The Secret Garden and Watership Down as a book that will always be read, enjoyed and appreciated.
The characterisation is perfect. Mole is hesitant, timid and dependable, Ratty is resourceful and in tune with the river, Badger is gruff, brooding and firm, Otter is a family 'man'and links Badger and the Wild Wood with Ratty and the Riverbankers and, of course, Toad who is irascible, bombastic, tempestuous, and, above all, loyal.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 October 2010
It's my own fault for not noticing this is an abridged version, but much as the illustrations are beautiful and it has a nice feel, the fact that chunks of the story, lots of detailed prose and the whole chapter of "Piper at the gates of dawn" are missing means I have to pass it on and find a full version for my son. It would be perfect if it were a full version.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2013
This is absolutely superb. The detail in the illustrations is equal to the sprit of the E H Shepherd drawings in the earlier classic edition. Sadly, Disney and so many later versions conveyed the twee and the over simplification of what is a classic tale. This is a delight for all ages although the very young below seven may find some words too grown up and the long sentences are difficult to read if you read it aloud. Take time with this book it will reward you throughout your whole life.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2011
This is one of my favourite books, I must have read it hundreds of times over the last fifty years, and I saw the wonderful illustrations and bought it on sight.
As I read it, I was so disappointed to find that it's abridging had shorn the text
of it's intrinsic poetic quality, removing the spiritual and mysterious undertone which sets it above otherwise similar books. So, illustrations five stars, text none. Such a beautiful product, too.
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
The presentation of this classic is perfect. Its a large hardback book with a beautifully illustrated slip cover. I still can't believe that this is sold for less than ten pounds. If you are looking for a gift or want to share this story with younger children then its bold enough to capture their minds. The text is large and easy to read. I will certainly be looking at others from Walker Books.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse