Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
20
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
17
4 star
3
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 February 2009
I first saw this book in the library in Urdu, but could tell it was great. It is now a regular at bedtime. The art is lovely and really captures life on a farm and the changing seasons. The story has a theme of oppressed animals rising up against the lazy, fat farmer. My two love it and so do i. The dvd, whilst only 6 mins long, is also a delight. "How goes the work?" is a regular refrain shouted around our house. Would make a fab present to age 18 months up, in my opinion. Proper storytelling and bonus dvd. A winner.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2010
These series of Book/DVD's are great - if your child is approaching 2, then probably they could sit and watch any of this series - and maybe even follow the book. The story is really good, and well illustrated.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2010
A brilliant story for 'pre-schoolers'. Story includes repetition which young children enjoy and like to join in. Good sequencing in the story and a great 'pay-off' at the end. Highly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Story line - Story about a selfish farmer that gets the duck to do all the work, while he sits in bed eating chocolate. But one day the animals all see that duck is getting angry so they all creep in on the farmer and break his bed while he’s sleeping. The farmer gets up and runs away and never comes back.

Early Years Teachers - This book proved to be an invaluable resource on my teaching placements. As with this well respected and loved children's author, Martin Waddell, this is a great book with a good story line. It is so versatile and can be enjoyed by many ages. It is really easy to engage with as there are so many possible themes in the story which can be explored to a suitable depth dependent on the children's ages.

Themes include: sharing, manners, friendship, helping, animals and farms.

Activity ideas: discussion about how the duck may have felt doing all the work; discussion about what would happen to the farmer if he kept doing what he was doing; writing a letter to either the duck or the farmer expressing their own opinions on the matter; role playing the story using the key phrase "how goes the work?"; discussing how the work could be shared out evenly if they were the farmer; exploring farm animals, their habitats and potentially visiting a farm.

The DVD is a great added extra and can be used to entice the children into the story.

Would recommend to any early years teacher or parent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2014
I bought this book for my grandson who is 18 months and it is one of his favourites. The book is beautifully illustrated and the story comes to life watching the DVD as we are reading the book. The story is easy to follow and the narrative is very clear and holds my grandson's attention every time I put it on. A firm favourite and it makes me want to buy other book/DVD's in the series.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2010
Poor Duck! This is a great book for identifying farm animals and the sounds they make. Great pictures too!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2013
My 2.5 yr old is a slow talker - but loves these DVD books - he has been regularly clutching his toy duck and cow and trying to tip tables over with them - copying the farmer being chucked out of his bed. This is a nice gentle story - but you will spend the day saying 'How goes the work'!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
This book begins on the inside cover, with a dull coloured picture which is full of foreboding. The repetitive wording goes down very well with children, who love to join in after a few reads. The story is heart wrenching and we do not like the human farmer. However it shows team work and support, and the inside back cover has the same picture but in brighter more positive colours, making us happy with the ending.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 September 2012
Great idea! Book with short DVD detailing exact story. My son is 5 and had this book read at school; then the class watched the DVD. He begged me to buy it for him. Lovely item for bedtime routine as short and sweet. Would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2011
I love this book and the children I have read it to invariably love it too. It's a story about a very lazy farmer who expects his duck to do all the work around the farm until the other animals rebel and come to his rescue. Children love the clear pictures, the rhythm of the text and the prediction of phrases & animal sounds (I usually get the children to supply these for me). Highly suitable for ages 3+ but I have had 10 year olds requesting it too!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here