Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
70
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2017
My son loves it. And very well written
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 September 2017
This is an interesting children's story which has more depth than it first appears. A brother and a sister don't get along and are completely different from each other. While the sister likes to read books alone and stay inside, the brother likes playing football with his friends and spending time outside. One day the siblings are forced to spend time together and then they find a tunnel. The paperback books is around A4 in size and is filled with thick glossy pages of illustrations and some text.

The story of 'The Tunnel' is quite a short one but it's what happens when the children go through the tunnel that's so interesting. I don't want to spoil the story but I will say that the girl, who is afraid of going through the tunnel, is forced to search for her brother when he doesn't return. The story of the siblings is based around a fairy tale but the book is far more interesting as there's plenty of reference, though the pictures, to other fairy tales too.

The illustrations are simple at first but get more interesting the further into the story you go. Some of the illustrations are amazing with so many hidden creatures and things to spot, and images that look a little scary. The last few pages have a surreal feel to them and it's interesting to spot all the other fairy tale images which at first glance you might not notice.

The ending of the story is short and simple and to me felt a little abrupt. I was hoping it would be a little more detailed but it's still a good ending to the story and one which focuses on the siblings getting along. Overall I think kids would enjoy this book for all the pictures. I'm still spotting things hidden among the trees and I'm sure kids and adults would enjoy looking at some of the illustrations. I also think it's a good book for telling the importance of getting along.
-Thanks to Walker Books for a free copy (as part of The Anthony Browne Collection).
review image review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2015
Just what was needed for getting my message. Across
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 13 September 2017
A fairytale about a brother and sister called Rose and Jack who do not get along at all. Rose enjoys being at home whereas the brother likes to be out with his friends and playing football. The pair argue all the time and their mother gets fed up and tells them to go out together and return by lunchtime.

They go off together and Jack runs ahead into a tunnel and Rose eventually follows him after she becomes worried that he is taking too long. She finds him and so the story goes a little strange.

It has a happy ending and they go back home and when the mother asks them why they are so quiet and if everything is alright. They smile at each other knowing about their adventure but don't tell their mother. Their adventure seems to bring the siblings closer to each other.

Walker Publishers sent me a copy of this book which was one of the books in a set by author Anthony Browne.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 September 2017
A pair of siblings with little in common end up bonding over a fantastical adventure. The unnamed duo are nothing alike - the sister reads and stays at home, quietly, her brother plays outside raucously.

One day, they discover and go through a tunnel to a strange wood. Creatures are visible in the wood, the sister in her red coat appears as a Hood character, with her brother turned to stone - can she save him?

It has the feel of a fairy story (The Snow Queen maybe), and has some unusual features, a lot of walls and old fashioned fashions, the children are not named until the very last page.

Suitable for younger children, it will be a deeper read the older they become. The themes of sibling hatred and love are universal ones and this is a classic story of a sister and brother, opening up discussion for listeners.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 4 September 2017
Browne certainly knows how to weave messages and morals into children's stories; this time young readers learn that siblings aren't all bad, and that sticking together might actually be just how to get along.

Brothers and sisters fight like cats and dogs, and in this story the only way for them to escape a sticky situation through a scary tunnel is for one bolshy brother and one scaredy cat sister to be there for each other in a moment of need.

The story is exactly what it seems on the tin, and as such the ideas aren't particularly original and have been done in a more inventive way elsewhere for small readers. Nevertheless, a nice story with mature narrative to challenge young children.

ARC provided free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2016
My 5 year old and I love Anthony Browne books and this was no exception. The first time I read it my daughter asked me to read it again immediately after. And again. And, as with all of Anthony Browne's books, it opened up avenues for loads of really interesting conversations between the two of us. My girl loved it so much she took it to school with her the next day to show it to her class as the words are perfect for her reading level (yet the message within the story would also be suitable for slightly older children).
I might add that, due to her obsession with the film, Return to Oz, my daughter loves anything that involves people being turned to stone!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Its OK story and can lead to discussions about getting on with siblings in a class situation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2011
At first, there doesn't seem to be much to the plot or depth of the story but like most of Anthony Browne's books, you will find something new every time you look at it that you haven't noticed before.

The story is about two siblings with gender stereotypical personalities and their attempt to resolve their differences by their mother's insistence. Their relation with one another change through a series of strange events.

Clearly inspired by well known fairy tales,the illustrations are dark and rich in symbolism. The sequence of events from the climatic point of the story also reminded me of a famous Hans Andersen story but I shall not reveal it here for those who wish to read this gem of a book.

Like all of Anthony Browne's books, the value is in looking over it again and discussing its deeper meaning and empathy with its characters.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2011
Lovely story, great illustrations.
I used in my 'adventure stories' literacy unit, and although the some of the language is a little 'old fashioned', the children loved the plot and characters.
Would recommend this book :)
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99
£6.99

Need customer service? Click here