Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
19
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£12.08+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2017
Great book, lovely quality pictures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2014
I bought this to use with a class of 6-7 year olds, to help them compare their lives with those of children who live in the desert. A beautiful book with lovely pictures, it makes differences (and similarities) really clear to them. They really enjoyed talking about the children in the story and learnt a lot. My own daughter who's 3 also enjoyed looking at it and finding out how children around the world are different yet similar. The way it's done. Where you read both stories simultaneously is a lovely idea.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2011
Billingual book about two cultures and two ways of life, illustrated in a fresh and ingeniouse style. Great piece of work from Australian illustrator, three dimensional images made of pieces of real material stuck on a wooden board. Great, not only for collectors.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2013
Jeannie Baker's book ''Mirror is superbly illustrated. Her detail to work is captivating. A beautifully portrayed and cleverly told story in amazing collage detail of 'a day in the life of two families living in different parts of the world and how their lives are interwoven ironically by a carpet'. This is a book that will permanently have a place on my book shelf.
I can recommend that all of Jeannie Baker's books will be adored by all ages and definitely inspires young and old to have a go at using their artistic skills at making a collage.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Winner of the Key Stage 1 Non-Fiction Category in the English Association's 2011 English 4-11 Best Children's Illustrated Books

Visual storytelling at its best. It is a two in one picturebook, with minimal written text in English and Arabic, about the lives and experiences of two little boys. One of them is from Sydney in Australia and the other from the Valley of Roses in Southern Morocco. So, in one case, we are shown urban landscapes of motorways, car parks and superstores and, in the other, we see deserts, working animals and markets. Each boy is growing up in a distinctive cultural context, but some things connect them. These things include the human need to be loved by family and friends and part of a community. Explaining her powerful metaphor Jeannie Baker comments: `Inwardly we are so alike, it could be each other we see when we look in a mirror'. The beautiful hand woven Moroccan carpet the Australian family receives symbolises these connections. Such a nice touch to have the Australian family sitting on the carpet and looking at their little boy's picture of a magic carpet in flight! In our modern world the Internet links us with different parts of the world, and we are shown the Moroccan family round the computer. The philosophy of connection between human beings wherever they live which underpins the book is shown in arresting artwork and makes it of interest to discerning readers of any age group. Jeannie Baker's distinctive collages, used in her other books too, are made by combining both natural and artificial materials - for example sand, earth, plastic and metal- on a wooden board. The photographs of these collages become the book's illustrations. Children in the key stage 1 years will learn something about human geography and each double spread, rich in detail, will give rise to much talk and perhaps children's own drawing and writing.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2016
A beautiful picture book, however, the comparison of a city in one country with a village in another creates a rather exaggerated set of contrasts which reinforces cultural stereotypes.

A comparison of city life in two countries, or village life in two countries would make more sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2013
Using this in my school as a stimulus not only for childrens writing but for PSHE work to. So many paralelles with childrens own lives and lots for them to talk about. Created good debates in class of 9 year olds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
The pictures tell the stories- two families in different places but linked by a carpet made in Morocco and bought in Australia- the pictures are rich in detail and more than replace the need for words.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a great book for teaching stories from other cultures. There are two stories which are read simultaneously and told by pictures rather than text. I have never seen a book like it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2015
An authentically written and illustrated book of two very different cultures that still have a lot in common. And one surprise connection as well. Delightful and informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£6.99
£6.99
£11.99

Need customer service? Click here