Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
64
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
57
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 September 2017
this is a brilliant book but ij was getting pretty creeped out because i kinda am very superstitious and just are like that but i read this before bed time and i woukd jhst think about the murders and contemplate them in my head. bit like a childrens horror story (no jk) . there is a lot of detective work going on but who the murder is was rly obvs but the storyline and how they get killed is surprising i really love how this book is set out so 5*
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A great book... I was hooked from the very beginning. An extremely thrilling book. I would recommend it to to anyone over the age of 8 years.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2006
If you have ever read a Diamond Brother story then this is for you.
Witty as ever. Horowitz does it again.
A nice short story to get through the day however if you haven't read any of the other your missing out on a treat.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2014
I read this book to my year 3 class in Southampton. We chose this book because we felt it would appeal to boy readers and it was also short - only 80 pages. This made it perfect for keeping the children's attention and creating learning tasks based on the story.

But what did the children think...

"It was mind-blowing. It was awesome because it was creepy and shocking, whilst being funny and interesting."

"The book did make me have a few bad dreams because it had a lot of people being killed in it but I am pleased that we finished it because I now feel a lot better about it."

"Tim is my favourite character because he takes baths with plastic ducks, does silly things and is generally quite stupid."

"I want to go to the library and get it out so that I can read it again."

The children really enjoyed the book, even though it was a bit scary at times for them. As teachers, we edited what we read to them slightly so as to cut out some of the more gruesome parts - even though nothing in the book is too graphic.
As a class, we would recommend this book for children in year 4 (8-9 year olds) and older. There are some year 3 children though who would really enjoy this book though.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2017
Really excellent book. I would recommend it to any age above 7. Brilliant read for the whole family. It is a must read that is definitely worth the money. The plot is another Horowitz special. It all starts with a school reunion from on of his famous friends on an island miles away from the mainland but the famous friend doesnt turn up. immediately nick senses something suspicious as the friends start dropping off one by one. Who is the killer?... its up to nick to find out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2007
I read this with a Y8 class over a few lessons and they were hooked from the start. Although it's short, it's perfect for 10 minutes at the end of a lesson or as a short class reader for a few lessons. The girls were not convinced to begin with but with some speculation throughout the first chapter they became intrigued.

The plot is great - think Cluedo set on an Island. The characters are all funny with something endearing about all of them. The children were left guessing right up to the end which made it worth while.

A lovely cost effective book that was just right!
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2007
This is a realy entertaining book. It is very funny and has many grusome murders! It should appeal to anyone who likes detective stories, young and old. It is always easy to pick up and read and is never boring. The only reason it got four stars was because it is really quite short. But for £1 you can't go wrong!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2006
Probably the best Horowitz story I have ever read.

He is my favourite author and always has been. The way he can include horror into a very funny story emphasises his ability to write in different styles and creates appreciative writing styles for different audiences.

This Diamond brother story is the best in the series. The brothers travel to a claustrophobic island where murders are taking place, but no one knows who is doing the.

The story is very exciting because of the mystery surrounding the plot. No one knows what is happening, creating great tension and mysterious things keep taking place. The use of Tim's pathetic self with terrible humour allows heavy chuckles when reading.

The cleverness of Nick is great as Horowitz writes from his point of view, allowing us an inside into his clever detective mind.

The murder conventions are great and captivate the genre brilliantly. The clues leading up to a brilliant conclusion are very well throughout out and engage the readers to thin for themselves about who the murderer really is.

The setting is also very well described and adds to an already tense plot.

A short story with exciting scenes, mystery and suspense running throughout, comedy, and intriguing character add up to one of the most exciting mysterious books I have ever read.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
This book is full of funny jokes and pure suspense. In my opinion it is the best book in the diamond brothers series
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2010
This is a brilliant book filled with danger, excitement and cliffhangers! it is short but filled with lots of adventure, it is not for the faint-hearted as there are some gruesome murders! It is very cleverly written and is wrapped up brilliantly. I would recommend this book for about 9+ (I am 11). It is highly addictive and you won't be able to put it down!
Another amazing book by Anthony Horowitz.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here