Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle George Michael - MTV Replugged Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 5 October 2017
my boy loves all his books. they are great!entertaining and funny at the same time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
The book arrived promptly ,the condition was as stated ,good. My son is working his way through the series.I am very pleased to have found a more economic way to buy these books .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 10 February 2011
Nick's older brother Tim is a useless Private Investigator - sacked by the store which had twenty three departments when he started, sixteen when he left. Nick is the only reason any case gets solved. What about this time? Greek popstar Minerva has received death threats and needs a bodyguard.

Quick moving fun as she presses on with Christmas engagements to promote her new CD - switching on lights in Regent Street, opening Santa's Grotto at Harrods. All the while the would-be killer is lurking, closer than she thinks....

A good read for those who enjoy truly groany jokes, of which there are plenty. One of the best? "Hello, Hello, Hello" - a police magazine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2009
I agree with the other readers who say that this is not the best of the Diamond Brothers stories. There isn't much of a plot in this one, nor is there very much action; the jokes and witty remarks are not quite as funny as they are in some of the other stories.

As the story starts, the brothers are broke and Christmas is not far away. Their affairs improve when Tim is retained to protect a glamorous international celebrity called Minerva, a pop princess and film star of Greek origin, who is receiving death threats on the occasion of her visit to London to switch on the Christmas lights and open the Santa Claus grotto in Harrods. Her husband insists on hiring a private detective, both for extra security and to find the originator of the threats, and her manager is ordered to find one and bring him in for approval. We need to wait until the end of the story to learn why the obviously idiotic and incompetent Tim was selected for the job. I hadn't realised that Tim was 28 years old by the way. After making a fool of himself yet again, he actually makes some sensible remarks about his unsuitability for the private detection business. As usual, it is Nick who notices anomalies, solves all of the mysteries and identifies the would-be killer and the reasons for the threats. The story that began on such a low note ends on a much higher one when the manager gives the brothers a £10,000 cheque in gratitude for all they have done to further the career of Minerva, his most famous and lucrative client.

Minerva does seem an unlikely name for someone of Greek origin: I realise that it is supposed to make us think of Madonna, but Minerva was the Roman name for the Greek goddess Athena. This is just a minor objection, and although it is not the best Diamond Brothers adventure the story does have some good features. The scene where the brothers rush to tidy up their messy office when there is an unexpected knock on their door is very amusing. I also particularly liked the references to Regent Street: it is so true that it is full of shops selling clothes that we couldn't possibly afford and wouldn't want to buy even if we could, and that the Christmas lights are no longer worth travelling to see. Obvious, but spot on. Anthony Horowitz often comes up with observations like this, which is why I continue to read these stories.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2012
I gave this to a group of primary six boys who are able readers but not yet book lovers. It went down very well indeed, in fact I will be getting more like it. Horowitz has great style and entertaining plot but with this series they are shorter and more attractive to kids who are not yet avid readers. Fact that they enjoyed it and finished it is great for me, the teacher. Means they are developing appetite for more - on their way to becoming book lovers. Thank you Anthony Horowitz. I rated it high. Downloaded onto six kindles. I use kindles in the classroom.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2013
I thought it was a fabulous - it was funny; full of murders, mysteries and laughs... I thought it was one of the funniest books I have ever read! The Diamond Brothers are the best!!!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
If you love a good romance story then DON'T buy this book. This is the most hilarious and devilish book you'll ever read. Its funny. Its gruesome. Its got Anthony Horowitz name written all over it.

This is a detective genre. Very gripping and tense at times. Beware. This is the last book in the series so make sure you read the other one's first.

This is the best read EVER!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2012
Only just over a hundred pages long, but still gives the true impression of Anthony. Funny. A great, action packed book except for the number of pages, a dim approximate 100. Still, my first Diamond Brothers book and a great impression of what may come next.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2013
This was a brilliant buy and well worth the money, my eldest loved this when she got it, it was a good stocking filler and definitely well worth the money and would recommend to anyone who like Anthony Horowitz
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2014
This is yet again another great diamond brothers book by Anthony Horowitz and it was amazing to read because you didn't know who done it until the very end and it kept you interested the whole way through
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse