Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle New Album - Foo Fighters Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
258
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£14.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 July 2015
This has got to be one of my all time favourite cookbooks, no bigger than your average paperback, it is also a fabulous read filled with Nigels' dry wit and wonderful ideas. Ive had mine for years, this I bought as a gift for someone who had read "Toast"
Everyone should have a copy, its simple recipes with a lot of everyday ( also some unusual) ingredients. Great for students and young adults as an introduction to cooking without the processed ready made rubbish!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2015
Love this. Paperback style without pictures. Simplistic but great for ideas that seem obvious after reading but you wouldn't always think of.
Of course there's the pretentious Nigel style but looking beyond that, tons of lovely ideas for everyday food that's super tasty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
No pictures but never mind..Im not the greatest cook but i love this book because the things i have tried do not take that long as the title suggests.Obviously you get quicker every time you do it and i also like to tinker with the ingrediants but Nigel won't mind.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2015
I already have many hard copy Nigel Slater cookery books. I treated myself to this kindle version and read it in the middle of the night. Needless to say, I couldn't wait for breakfast.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2017
fab
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2017
Another faultless cookbook from Nigel Slater, full of good recipes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2017
This is a really useful cookery book. Nigel Slater writes in a very friendly manner, its like chatting with a knowledgable friend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
As with all Nigel Slater cook books this one is full of quick, nutritious receipes, ideal for anyone needing to cook a quick meal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 31 December 2003
This book deserves to be a mainstay of any kitchen. It's a huge resource of simple, quick yet highly inventive recipes. Not only that, but suggestions for no-preparation-needed snacks as an alternative to sweets and crisps. None of the recipes takes more than 30 minutes total preparation and cooking time, and most of them come in at 10 minutes or less.
The book is handily split up into basic food types (vegetables, fruit, eggs, fish, meat, chicken, cheese etc.) so that you can quickly look up whatever it is you have sitting in the fridge, and usually find about 5 recipes featuring it. None have very many ingredients (usually about 3-8 different things) and all of them are items you're likely to have around or be able to get from the corner shop. Given this, it's amazing the variety and originality of the recipes. For example, I've been trying out the various apple recipes recently, and have been inspired by the steamed apples with butter sauce, apple with orange sauce, and pan-fried apple and cheese salad - all three recipes take about 5-10 minutes to make, and have prompted me to experiment with variations of my own.
0Comment| 66 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2000
This book really is great, even with my two hotplates and tiny combi oven, I can make something really good in 30 minutes. Every receipe I have tried is very tasty. I highly recommend this book for any one with a small kitchen and not much time! I am moving house soon to a new larger kitchen, where I can make much fancier meals, but this will definately remain my favourite cookery book!
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)