Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
41
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2017
A lovely autobiography of a Police Woman in the 1950`s. Well written and a pleasure to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
A refreshing read from my wonderful county.
I just couldn't put this book down, it took me no time at all to finish it
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2013
I joined the police in 1972 but this book was a joy - well written, nostalgic but honest, true to life - really did enjoy it - brought back many memories - ending a little disappointing - went out like a damp squib but up to last few pages, gripping and one of the few books I have kept - will certainly read it again, something that I rarely do...it's brill....can highly recommend - Squirrel 59 - Tues 22.10.13
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2013
I have have found the two books I have read so far pleasant and enjoyable to read while relaxing in the sun. Sometimes when reading more seriu books one finds them very hard to get back into when having to keep putting them up and down but his type of book I am finding very easy to stop and start reading while I am having a bad time health wise at present.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2013
This is a well written account of the life of a policewoman in the days when they were real rarities: I joined the police in 1959 when there were just two policewomen who covered the whole of my division, with something like a dozen or so in the whole force and just one woman Sergeant who was in charge. The author's experiences pre-date 1959. Although I was in a southern force, names appear with which I am familiar and the day to day work was very much the same in those days - long before pandas, personal radios, etc., etc.. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2014
Easy to read, no concentration required so a good one for on the plane or the beach but therein lies the problem. None of the threads in the tale lead anywhere. Pamela starts to tell you about one of the experiences that she had then just says something like "and I never saw them again." Perhaps that sums up being a WPC in the day but left me feeling really frustrated that nothing seemed to be closed off.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2013
A good relaxing read not only from the aspect of one the first women police officers but also an insight into the social history of the time and a period when most police officer's had a background of the armed forces which was the sector of the public that tended to be targeted by the police authorities and who would not, normally, query an instruction given by a more senior officer
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2016
An Excellent read, more especially so if one was a Policewoman or even a Policeman of that era and attended the establishments mentioned.
To those officer who followed on in later years it gives a picture of "How it was" in "The Good Old Days" !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2014
I didn't feel this book was particularly well written. It would be useful to a young woman thinking of joining the police as it gives an insight into the sort of things a young woman PC might be called upon to do. Found it a bit boring.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
The idea was good with some good accounts of her experiences. Rather too easy reading, and few of the stories given had sufficient details to make them "live". Would have liked more depth to an interesting life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here