Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
18
4.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£6.48+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 June 2016
not a book of poems as described but actually a literary book about his works etc. Not pleased
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2009
I thought it was very useful for condensed notes on each poem, extended commentary and background information is particularly useful. The only problem was that some of the important poems (for AS English Lit) were missed out.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2014
Helped me out a lot for A Level English literature! Nice interpretations. Some similar ones found on the internet though, but for those with a liking for neat, concise and compact ideas, this book is a go-to!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2015
Clear,concise,cogent, comprehensive, and constuctive
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
The main poems and most well known are all found in this collection. I bought it for my as AQA studies on Victorian literature and found that the poetry analysis, like most york notes analysis,was vague and whilst giving pointers was not overly useful.

However, if you are also studyig these poems, I would buy this help guide solely for the in depth commentary in the back on Hardy's concepts of Loss, The Past and several other important themes. Three poems are done in detail and generally the second half is very useful for essay plans and mind maps.

All in all, this was worth what I paid for it.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2009
This is just the job if you are an 'A' Level student, it has just what you need without being too prescriptive.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2015
Useful enough but nothing that you wont already learn at school in lessons
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2015
Very helpful breaks everything down for those studying Hardy for GCSE.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 October 2015
As always fantastic notes from York Notes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2015
as expected
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse