Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Fire Tablet Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 October 2011
If you haven't experienced the perennial delights of Jeeves and Wooster then this is an excellent place to start. Bertie Wooster (an "Abysmal Chump" in the words of his formidable Aunt Dahlia) is forever getting himself into a fix and, despite his own confidence, only Jeeves can come up with a solution.

In this collection we revisit Bingo Little and his romance-writing wife, Tuppy and his ferocius father Sir Roderick Glossop who thinks an asylum is the only appropriate place for Bertie, the irrepresible Bobbie Wickham, and Bertie's sweet Uncle George who wants to marry the waitress from the bun-shop...

Wodehouse's language is sublime, his plotting immaculate, and his ability to reveal the absurd and ridiculous untouched. I love all the Jeeves & Wooster stories which bear constant re-reading - highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2017
Excellent read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Another delightful collection of Jeeves and Wooster short stories where as usual we see Bertie Wooster making a fool of himself whilst Jeeves is pulling the strings behind the scenes, towards a desired outcome.

Amongst the stories collected here are one in which Jeeves lays out someone with a golf club, Wooster is found up a tree at night carrying a plant pot by a police officer, finds himself stranded on a duck island being menaced by a swan, and the course of true love is fixed by forgetting a picnic basket and draining a car of petrol so it breaks down in a deserted country lane.

As with other Jeeves and Wooster stories the plots are ridiculous and somewhat contrived, but that is exactly why we love them. Wooster inevitably gets himself into a scrape through no fault of his own, and it requires the superhuman brain power of his trusted manservant to recover the situation without too much loss of dignity. There are the usual selection of domineering aunts, rich buffoon friends, precocious brats and scheming would be suitors.

I maintain that PG Wodehouse is like Enid Blyton for adults where in this idyllic 1920/30s environment nothing terrible ever happens, and a happy ending is always guaranteed, a warm and inviting comfort blanket which lovingly envelops you.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2012
If you've never read P G Wodehouse before, this is a good introduction ~ Simple, charming, witty, charming and quite simply witty. a bit like this review. god I'm lonely
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
These are a selection of short stories involving Jeeves and Wooster. Usually I prefer the complete novels, but this book gets my undying seal of approval because of the story of Tuppy Glossop and his relationship with a very snooty opera singer. It is a simple story, so I won't give it away, but I urge you to read it. It made me cry with laughter and is a true gem. The other stories are great too, by the way!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
`Very Good, Jeeves!' is a collection of Wooster and Jeeves stories which carries on from where we last heard from them in `Carry on, Jeeves'. As before Jeeves is a resource used to sort of all manner of problems for Bertie Wooster, his great friend Bingo Little and his not so great friend Tuppy Glossop using `The psychology of the individual'. As usual problems are presented in the shape of Bertie's Aunt Agatha, Uncle George and the esteemed Sir Roderick Glossop. New problems of more dramatic consequence are presented by Bobbie Wickham whom we met previously in the second volume of Mr Mulliner short stories `Mr Mulliner Speaking'.

Weather extracting Tuppy from the arms of an opera singer or saving Bingo from being caught putting the housekeeping on a horse Wodehouse and Jeeves never let the menagerie or the reader down. Although not as clever as the twists and turns in later Jeeves novels the short form does suit Bertie's narrative of Jeeves successes.

As ever the Wodehouse language as over complicated by Wooster's pen is a pleasure to behold. Bertie's description of the game of Rugby been as `fruity' a description to ever grace any publication `I know that the main scheme is to work the ball down the field somehow and deposit it over the line at the other end, and that, in order to squelch this programme, each side is allowed to put in a certain amount of assault and battery and do things to its fellow man which, if done elsewhere, would result in fourteen days without the option, coupled with some strong remarks from the Bench.' Top hole.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2016
I've started reading the Jeeves books after watching the series with Stephen (I think he prefers it spelt that way) Fry and Hugh Laurie (He's the guy that Americans are surprised to learn is English and does a great American accent and not the other way round). I realise that the TV series has remained true to the original stories as much as possible. The only problem with the TV series is that some of the characters are played by different actors/actresses throughout the series. Sometimes for the better other times not. They should never have changed Bingo Little but they should have used the last actress for Madeleine Bassett from the very beginning. Anyway, with this in mind you can image the actor you prefer while you read along. P. G. Wodehouse was a genius. He inspired an internet search engine posthumously. How many can make that claim?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 August 2013
There comes a time where only Jeeves and Wooster will do. You need to know very little about these two apart from Bertie Wooster's schemes will fail and it is Jeeves who will silently pick up the pieces and put everything back together in the correct way.

In this book which contains 11 short stories which are linked by the fact they refer back to previous events, but they contain enough background to be able to understand the current story. They are a great introduction to Jeeves and Wooster and Wodehouse writing as well as the characters of Bingo Little, Tuppy Glossop, Bobby Wickham and the various aunts who are the scourge of a family according to Bertie.

There is some wonderful observations dispensed by Bertie at the pen of Wodehouse which I think is what makes these books so enjoyable, light and humourous;

on describing Tuppy's new love....."be an upstanding light-heavy-weight of some thirty summers, with a commanding eye and a square chin...I don't know why it is , but women who have anything to do with Opera, even if they're only studying for it, always appear to run to surplus poundage."

on encountering a policeman...."when a sudden bright light shone upon me from below and a voice spoke. "Ho!" it said. It was a policeman. Apart from the fact of his having a lantern, I knew it was a policeman because he had said 'Ho!'....evidently policeman are taught this as part of their training. And after all, it's not a bad way of opening conversation in the sort of circs in which they generally have to chat with people."

There are lots of little snippets like these two throughout the book and they form part of the stories as the book bounces lightly on in the adventures of Wooster and the Very Good, Jeeves.

A one for Jeeves and Wooster fans, and for those who want to put their toe into the Wodehouse water and see whether it is for them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
Bertie Wooster is a wealthy upper-class young man from the early part of the 20th century, who isn’t particularly bright, but has a kind heart. He finds it hard to say no, particularly to his rather terrifying Aunt Agatha. His valet Jeeves, by contrast, is a man of high intelligence, always able to solve problems for Bertie and his friends.

This is a set of eleven short stories featuring the classic pair and several of Bertie's friends and relatives. In the first story, ‘Jeeves and the Impending Doom’, Bertie and Jeeves travel to stay with Aunt Agatha in her country home. Shortly after he arrives he sees, to his astonishment, his friend Bingo Little, only to learn that they mustn’t be seen hobnobbing. The plot qthickens, and - as ever - Jeeves sorts everything out.

The same basic plot underlies the other stories too. With Wodehouse, what matters are the brilliant asides, the poetical allusions, and the unlikely situations in which Bertie finds himself, usually because he’s helping out a friend or acquaintance. Everyone is caricatured, of course; yet it doesn’t matter. The humour is in the understatements, the irony, and the clever dialogue.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed this volume, which I hadn't read for probably twenty years. Highly recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2009
This is the second collection of Jeeves and Wooster short stories (the first being Thank You Jeeves), and is even funnier than the first. It contains such incidents as the cabinet minister menaced by a swan and the water-bottle puncturing imbroglio. Cannot be recommended too highly.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse