Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
20
RSPB Pocket Birds
Format: Paperback|Change


on 8 May 2017
Lovely informative book, ideal for taking in the car. Got for a very good price. Have the large hard backed copy also.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 September 2016
As a beginner I find this book is okay but I don't have anything to compare it to, comes with a plastic protective sleeve wich is a nice touch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2014
There are many superb bird guides on the market and your choice will depend on personal taste, and level of experience. Many birders regard the Collins Bird Guide are most comprehensive. However, it is rather too large and heavy to go in your pocket, especially if you simply want an identification guide. It's illustrations are also drawings, rather than photographs, which is not everyone's preference.

This book is, in my view, the very best pocket guide to British birds available. At less than a third of the weight of the Collins guide, it still packs a wealth of detail. It has the brilliantly clear photographic illustrations you expect from D & K, and is divided into logical sections which makes it intuitive to use, and helps you identify species quickly. Every bird you are likely to see in Britain (and much of Northern Europe) is included.

Better still it always seems to sell for a ridiculously low price !
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 February 2015
Quality photos of Britain's(and Europe's) bird life well illustrated and written pocket book a good reference guide, even for our garden wildlife especially when you take a photo and cannot remember the name of this little creature that visits us for food in winter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 December 2015
Great little book packed with information and pictures - the 'look inside' thing doesn't really do it justice. Being so narrow though it require some pulling to part the pages when reading and that concerns me that over time it may start to come apart.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 August 2016
I love this book. It has all the information you could need to identify any bird in Europe and I couldn't recommend it more highly. It has been on many bird walks and withstood all weather. Every birdwatcher must have this book!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2016
My second copy of this handy little book, which I keep in the car. My original I have given to my son as he has started expressing an interest in bird identification. Great for beginners or old hands alike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2014
This is a good reference book to have, without being too detailed, it enables you to identify the various visitors to the countryside or garden. Great value for money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 July 2013
Very good for identifying your garden birds.& small enough to carry when out walking.Makes a nice present for someone.Thank you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 September 2016
Delighted and pleased to complete the set of RSPB nature books with such an excellent and easily read reference book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse