Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Blind Boys of Alabama Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2013
Very good pocket map folds easy and takes up very little room in bag or pocket. Gives you a good knowledge of each area to visit all colour coded,highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I know Rome well, but wanted a pocket-sized guide to take with me for reference on a recent 4-night break there with my partner, who had never been before. This was excellent, small and light yet covering the essential squares, churches, monuments and galleries, with a pull-out map that was very useful.

The historic centre of Rome is relatively small and crowded, and falls into distinct districts. The DK Eyewitness Guide takes Rome district by district, giving you the most important places in each. If you have only a limited time in the city, you may be much better off with a condensed guide like this than with one of the more detailed tomes that gives you masses of information.

Walking is by far the best way to see things in Rome, and in my opinion, new visitors should just get to the important places and then absorb them with your own eyes and feelings! I see so many tourists being endlessly lectured by tour-guides about historical details which they can't possibly absorb, or poring over closely-printed guide-books. Just look around and enjoy!

Of course, the guide omits many masterpieces, and if you've been to Rome before, you may require something more heavyweight, like the DK Eyewitness Travel Guide: Rome but if this is your first trip to the Eternal City, and you are able to visit a quarter of the highlights in the book, you will have a wonderful time!

Recommended to those who are staying only a few days, or who don't know where to begin.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
Easy to carry round in your pocket or handbag due to it's compact size. Good value for money with a nice fold out map in the back
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
I was very surprised at how helpful and clever this little guide book was. I spent 2 weeks travelling around Italy on the trains and this little guide was a big help. Light and as descibed, fits in your pocket. Text is a bit small and may prove difficult to read for people with sight problems but other than that, i would have been lost without it.....literally.

Full of helpful tips and important information. Also includes train routes, bus stops and restaurant suggestions with a pricing index to show you a variation of cheap to expensive places to eat. For places of interest, it will tell you if there is an admission charge and helpful tips on getting tickets.

I would recommend it to anyone travelling to Rome.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2013
This guide fits into the smallest handbag and gives you all the basic information you need when exploring Rome. We did, however, find it useful to have a larger more detailed guide to supplement it, but we were pleased to leave this heavier one back in the hotel room. The pocket map and guide was simple to use for finding all the sites and for travelling around.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2013
This pocket guide really is pocket sized, but still has all the information you could possibly need inside. There's a fold-out map inside the back cover with lots of attractions marked on it that's really useful, and the different areas of Rome are colour-coded so you can easily find your way around.

Great little guide to plan your trip to Rome with.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2013
I cannot be bothered to lug a large guide book around, and this fits into a hip pocket and includes a map, so serves as a guide during the day, reminding me of plans for visits and walks. I have bought several in this series and recommend them highly. You may want a more exhaustive guide book to refer to in the evenings when planning the next day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2013
A good back up for a more detailed guide. Small and neat, fits easily in your bag ( or even a big pocket) and has an attached fold out map, so handy when wandering around the city rather than carrying a bulky guide. Good snippets of info though this is not the guide for you if you want lots of detailed info about the sites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2013
I was disappointed with it as I did not realise how small it would be even though I know it said pocket size! I did not feel the map was as clear as it might have been . However it was delivered quickly.
I did buy the rough guide which was excellent after.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
This is a good guide but being small enough for a pocket or a handbag it means the maps are not easy to read i.e. street names - it would probably be ideal for a younger person - being older and wearing glasses I found the print too small.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)