Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
33
4.2 out of 5 stars
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Brussels, Bruges, Antwerp & Ghent
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 21 November 2012
This book is supposed to be about four distinct cities. Sadly the top 10 lists cover all four areas simultaneously and not each individual city on it's own, so if are not going to three of the four cities the lists are pointless.

We were only going to Antwerp, so when we read the top 10 beer venues and 9 of the 10 are not in Antwerp, it's pretty pointless.

The book needs to be split up into a city by city guide so that you can find the top 10 things in the area you are.

Really disappointed by this as we've used top 10 books before and all have been very good.

we won't be buying any more "multiple venue" top 10 books.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Have just returned from a river cruise in the Holland and Belgium and found this guide extremely useful. It is easy to carry and contains just the right amount of information for day trips to the various cities and locations. Well illustrated and easy to follow. Definitely worth having.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2012
DK Eyewitness Top 10 Travel Guide: Brussels, Bruges, Antwerp & Ghent
Dont go without one. I always buy travel guides full of useful information as you would expect .
Place of interest and things to see and do and not forgetting a map :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWERon 23 January 2017
This 144-page book - the 7th (PRINT) edition of January 2017 - is a colourful and informative guide to the attractions of the major cities of the Kingdom of Belgium; for real visitors and armchair travellers alike. It has all the usual features, including excellent maps and articles. There are excellent colour photos breaking up the text columns, so you can see what you are looking for. It is a handy up-to-date guidebook, with all the usual topics a tourist guide provides, as well as chapters on the top ten sites to visit, and a Top 10 of “everything” worth seeing, doing, eating & drinking.

Please note that this is a POCKET guide to the HIGHLIGHTS of the area, and not an in-depth study of everything to be found there. For that, you need a full-sized guide. This is more for a weekend break. If you are visiting one of these cities for the weekend, however, then are you likely to go to one of the others as well? The implication of this book appears to be that there isn’t enough in just one city. Was this book commissioned by the Prague or the Amsterdam tourist authority?

The Contents include -
P005: Top 10 Brussels, Bruges, Antwerp & Ghent Highlights -
The Grand Place, Brussels; Musees Royaux des Beaux-Arts, Brussels; Musee des Instruments de Musique, Brussels; Horta Museum, Brussels; Comics Art Museum, Brussels; The Burg, Bruges; Two Museums of Bruges; Antwerp Cathedral; Rubenshuis, Antwerp; The Adoration of the Mystic Lamb, Ghent

P038: Top 10 of Everything (top 10 lists of all the other touristy things to see and do, including cildren’s attractions, places to shop, excursions, museums & galleries, festivals, etc.)

Brussels, Bruges, Antwerp & Ghent Area by Area (the guide)
P072: Central Brussels
P082: Outer Brussels
P090: Bruges
P100: Antwerp
P108: Ghent

P116: Streetsmart (practical touristy & travel information); plus -
P124: Places to Stay
P132: General Index
P140: Phrase Book (in French and Dutch - so you can offend twice as many people by addressing them in the wrong language)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2012
My husband and I just returned from a very successful trip to Belgium. Although the book was missing certain things (ie. Brussels Metro map...should really be in there), it was fine because we got a map from the Metro ourselves.
The information was easily set out and the pictures were great.
I sticky-noted in 3 different colours for each city....this was because information on Antwerp was all around the book; in the front under the top 10, in the middle with information about 'Other museums' and in the back for general city info.
I would recommend this book as it is small, concise and a great tool when traveling around!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2011
I only had time in 3 days to see something of Belgium. Spent 1 day in Brussels, same for Bruges and Antwerp. Guide book small, fitted easily into a handbag, very useful. Information covered most things but spread out in the book, so art information on sights in Bruges, for example, was in different parts of the book for the same museum. Maps could have been clearer but on the whole sufficent. Used public transport but found that local knowledge more useful than the guide. I wasn't aware that different languages were spoken in different regions of the country, although it is the size of Wales. English widely spoken. Day trip to Amsterdam from Brussels took too much time, so went to Bruges instead. Well worth it! Check through Internet for museums' opening time etc. Some closed for refurbishment etc. For a short stay the book gave ample choice of sights. Take comfortable walking shoes, walking is the only way to see these sights.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2011
I went to Brussels and Bruges for four days and this book was fantastic at telling you the must see things for a short break. For a longer holiday it may not be as suitable as you can very quickly work through the top 10s.

The eating out part of the guide seemed a little dated and could have included many more restaurants.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2011
When only staying in a city for a relatively short time (in this case three days in Brussels) we find the Top 10 books to be indespensible. The maps are quite good too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 September 2014
Hands down my favourite series. I find that in most cases, when I travel to see friends and also visit their city, I usually have a couple of days. This series give the top list of all I needs, things to see, best cafes, ideas for walks, day trips, local information about how not to get into trouble, a foldaway map and the whole book is so small, that it is no trouble to carry it around all day.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
This was a good product considering we didn't look at anything to do before we got there. We followed this book quite religiously and had a great time. Easy to find the attractions as there are some useful maps in there although I would get a better map to navigate around. Good tips on what to do, although confusing layout so you would have to read it through as all the cities are mixed up.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)