Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2010
I have been using DK travel guides for all my trips around the world and they never disappoint. This one, as the others, has all the essentials, will take you everywhere you need to go and teach you all about the place where you are at.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 August 2011
Planning something more than a day trip to Venice? Then, this book is essential.
The splendour of Venice is well known, but like the thorns on a rose, Venice has its fair share of nuisances. Of course, if you're there for just a couple of hours, these are watered down to a vaporetto trip on the Grand Canal, a gondola rip-off and a visit to San Marco and the Campanile.
However, if you're staying in Venice for some days, you need something to structure your trip upon. This book is a gem. Compact enough to fit a small bag (too big for a pocket) it's full of information, graphics and tips.
A history and general information section at the beginning makes a good read ahead of arriving there. This is followed by a section called "a view of the Grand Canal", with illustrations giving a bird's eye view of the Canal and the main attractions encountered on its banks. Then, the city is divided into areas with colour-coded pages corresponding to the shade of colour of the particular district in the main map. Each section contains a brief intro, information about the main sights, and a suggested walking route. The top sights are given full pages, with dissected diagrams of the main churches and buildings.
Venice is truly a maze, and this book has several pages of detailed maps. Other maps given by the hotel or information office were not detailed enough to make our way through such a labyrinth. These maps were truly our Ariadne's thread.
We did use some of the suggested eateries,and the reviews were true to fact.
All in all, recommended for those visiting Venice.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2012
... but on next revision make it more clear that all bus boats are vaporetti but not all vaporetti are ACTV (or Alilaguna). There are two entirely separate operators, ACTV and Alilaguna. Only Alilaguna goes to and from the airport, so if you're using this method to transfer you'll need a separate pass to ACTV-it around Venice. The Alilaguna service is poor to travel around during your stay so don't waste money on, say, the three day pass - just get the airport return. Alilaguna boat staff tend not to believe you've got a ticket unless you're with a suitcase. They probably think you're trying to bumble-on to their boat with an ACTV pass. We found they tended to fib and say they are not going to where you want to - you have to be confident and say you know where they're going and waive your ticket as you approach the boat.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2010
We always use the Eyewitness Travel Guide as they have proven to give accurate information and the recommended tours take you to the most interesting sites. Excellent publication.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2010
We recently spent 5 wonderful days in Venice, and felt as though we walked MILES every day! The Guide was really good, up to date and easy to carry.
We also took a larger map which was invaluable. If you only have room for one guide book, this book will tick the boxes.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2011
Delighted with this travel guide. Exactly what I was looking for: masses of information but given in a logical layout, easy to navigate with colour codes for areas and every page has attractive photos and drawings of places of interest. Entertaining reading before your trip to decide what you want to see including good travel tips and all the info you need to get around. Moreover a wonderful compact memento after the trip. Never been disappointed by Amazon: fast dependable service, excellent quality goods and better prices than I can get in the local shops despite postage abroad! My favourite Internet shopping site!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2010
As with all DK books the level of detail is really useful. It is full of great information on the districts of Venice and the history of the properties and sights.
The most useful section i found was in the Practical Information and Travel Information in the Survival Guide.

The only criticism i would have that i was only visiting Venice on a short break and the book covers a much wider area that i did not visit. Mind you the clue is in the books title!

Well worth the money.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2012
A very helpful guide with photography that makes it worth re-visiting long after our return from holiday! It makes me want to return to Venice very soon to see more of the places we could only read about in the three days we allowed ourselves!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
Having borrowed this edition from the library I found it an excellent guide, so I decide to buy my own copy for the next time we go to Venice - and there will be a next time! The guide is divided into areas with good street by street maps, plenty of illustrations and lots of detailed information not written in a dry and dusty way. The practical information re. travel, shops restaurants, etc, is first class.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)