Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 18 December 2016
Great little guide that makes it easy to navigate around New York. Contains detailed information on different areas and attractions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 November 2017
A+++
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 June 2012
Contains very good information and good historical background, as well as a very detailed map which is useful when planning where to go and how to get there, but weighs a lot more than I expected which meant it did not fit into my handbag and was too heavy to carry around all day.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 December 2012
Went to New York after reading this guide marking out places we wanted to go. Found it invaluable as the whole guide was correct in every detail making getting around New York very easy. The only thing missing was to say how clean NY is and how nice, friendly and helpful people are. We will go again using this guide
We really do recommend it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 February 2015
Great
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 May 2016
NOTE - Amazon has linked the reviews of the Top 10 Gude to the entry for thr FULL New York City Guide, so you will find my review of the Top 10 Guide here, followed by the FULL Eyewitness Guide.

============
TOP 10 GUIDE

This 192-page book - the 15th (print) edition of September 2017 - is a colourful and informative guide to the attractions of New York City; for real visitors and armchair travellers alike. It has all the usual features, including excellent maps and articles. There are excellent colour photos breaking up the text columns, so you can see what you are looking for. It is a handy up-to-date guidebook, with all the usual topics a tourist guide provides, as well as chapters on the top ten sites. This is ideal for a short-stay family trip.

Please note that this is a POCKET guide to the HIGHLIGHTS of the area, and not an in-depth study of everything to be found there. For that, you need a full-sized guide.

The Contents include -
P005: Top 10 New York Highlights (Empire State Building; Fifth Avenue; Rockefeller Centre; Statue of Liberty; Ellis Island; Times Square & “Theater” District; Central Park; Metropolitan Museum of Art; Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum; American Museum of Natural History).

P045: The Top 10 of Everything (top 10 lists of all the other touristy things to see and do)

New York Area By Area -
P078: Lower Manhattan
P084: Civic Center & South Street Seaport
P090: Chinatown & Little Italy
P096: Lower East Side & East Village
P102: SoHo & TriBeCa
P108: Greenwich Village
P114: Union Square, Gramercy Park & Flatiron
P120: Chelsea & Herald Square
P126: Midtown
P136: Upper East Side
P142: Upper West Side
P148: Morningside Heights & Harlem
P154: The Outer Boroughs

Streetsmart -
P164: Getting to and around New York
P166: Practical information
P172: Places to Stay
P180: General Index

=============
FULL NEW YORK CITY GUIDE

This 440-page book - the 24th (PRINT) edition of October 2017 - is a colourful and informative guide to the east-coast US city of New York, and its surrounding areas. It has all the usual features, including excellent maps and diagrams. There are excellent colour photos breaking up the text columns, so you can see what you are looking for. It is a handy up-to-date guidebook, with places to stay, see, eat, drink and shop.

The Contents are -
P010: Introducing New York (6 chapters)

New York City Area by Area
P066: Lower Manhattan & the Civic Centre
P086: Lower East Side
P096: SoHo & TriBeCa
P102: Greenwich Village
P112: East Village
P118: Grammercy & the Flatiron District
P126: Chelsea & the Garment District
P136: Midtown West & the Theatre District
P146: Lower Midtown
P162: Upper Midtown
P178: Upper East Side
P198: Central Park
P204: Upper West Side
P214: Morningside Heights & Harlem
P226: Brooklyn

P242: Further Afield
P260 Seven Guided Walks

P280: Travellers’ Needs (Where to stay, where to eat & drink, shopping, entertainment, etc)
P362: Survival Guide (Getting there, getting around, “practical information”, etc.)
P386: New York City Street Finder
P420: General Index
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 June 2012
I bought this because of the unreservedly positive Amazon reviews. If you are tempted to do the same, beware. This is a big book and I'm not sure what kind of traveller the publishers had in mind when they decided to use the heaviest, kaolinised, shiny paper for its 450 pages. It's HEAVY. I just weighed it: it's 696g or one and a half pounds! That is a lot out of my baggage allowance. And it's nearly 9 inches by nearly 6 inches. That is not a book to take out with you and I won't be taking it to New York with me.

In short the book falls between two stools. If it is a read-at-home book it should/could have been bigger and easier to open and hold. If however it was supposed to be a walk-with-you book it should have been much lighter and smaller.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 July 2012
I usually always buy an eyewitness guide when visiting a new destination. This is the first time I was disappointed. Reason being DK eyewitness guide provide fantastic historical detail. This is great for old cities such as those in Europe and Africa.
The same doesn't work for New York which is a relatively young city.

For me the book was full of pointless facts and uninteresting historical information. There is no information on places to eat, shop and general fun things to do.

If you want to visit New York solely for its museums and history this is the book for you. If you're going for the nightlife , or want to visit some good restaurants and want a chic holiday then I wouldn't recommend this guide book.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 6 February 2014
DK eyewitness books are always great read, full of useful information. Best of all they are always at a great price on Amazon. Buy it Now!!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 June 2016
We were recommended this book by staff in a book shop but it was expensive. Amazon had it at a good price. The book was delivered quickly and arrived in good condition. The book is a good size making it easy to carry round so we could keep referring to it. I found the information to be good and interesting. We found the suggested day out plan useful to understand what we could do in a day. The map was very useful and made traveling around easy. Once we got to major land marks it was good to be able to read to section of the book referencing it. If you are going to New York I would suggest getting this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse