Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
30
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£10.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 March 2005
If you're thinking that walking could be a good way of getting fit, losing weight or just keeping you healthy, then this book will tell you how to go about it. If you have already started walking and want to hone your power walking technique, or train for a specific goal (e.g. the London Moonwalk), then this book will tell you everything you need to know. But if you're more into hiking or country walks, then this is not for you.
A brilliant book at all levels, Walking for Fitness is written by Nina Barough who started the Walk the Walk charity and is a power-walking guru. It covers absolutely everything, with sections on how to get started, basic walking technique, stretches and complimentary exercises, good walking shoes and clothing, cross training, food intake, related injuries, walking with children, walking while pregnant, walking for charities or in competitions and training programmes.
Barough has devised different training programmes for beginner, intermediate and advanced levels, for weight loss, and for those with distance goals. I am in training for the Moonwalk marathon this summer (2005), but I started using this book when I was a complete novice and it has held my hand all the way through. I am still referring to it to remind myself of things I have forgotten, for information that is relevant to me now but wasn't when I started, or for the extras I can focus on now that more of my routine has become automatic.
It doesn't matter whether you are 20 or 60, this is an uplifting book that will encourage you into a way of keeping fit that you can rely on for the rest of your life. After all, you can walk anywhere and everywhere. Worth every penny.
11 comment| 168 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I've read a few fitness books (Matt Roberts, Anita Bean and Running Made Easy). There are some very good books out nowadays and I was surprised at how much I enjoyed reading Walking for Fitness. It's not really true that the book is aimed purely at Power walkers as I think any fitness seeking walker would benefit from the advice here.

Of all the books I've read, this one made the most sense to me. It is motivational without being OTT (as these type of books often are). The book is clear and progresses very naturally through all aspects of fitness without making it feel like any part is going to be a struggle. That is the beauty of this book for me: a lot of the time, fitness manuals (in their OTT approach to superhuman healthy living) send you into an OTT regime you'd rarely keep up with. This is gentle and sensible and covers so much more besides just power walking (meditation whilst walking, positive thinking and visualisation, pedicures, massage, healthy diet (where fry ups are allowed!!!), and even basic pilates and yoga). On top of this, you get a good grounding in walking and general fitness. Nothing is too much; just enough to start and enjoy without feeling there is any pressure to succeed.

I thoroughly enjoyed this and hope that Nina Barough writes more books in future. It may not be strong enough to motivate a health fanatic, but if you're looking for a solid and gentle fitness book -- which allows you to develop at your own pace without feeling pressured to do more -- you can't really go wrong.
22 comments| 43 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 May 2004
The author, Nina Barough, is the organiser of the Moonwalk, which is a marathon walk held every year in London to raise money for Breast Cancer research.
This book is excellent if you want to use walking to build up your fitness or lose weight through walking. However, it really does mean walking in the park or on roads. The author spends no time at all on any sort of off-road walking, which is what most people would choose to do if they want to walk long distances (and this builds up to walking marathons). She suggests walking shoes rather than boots - again, only suitable for road walking. There are lots of handy tips on nutrition and stretching and some useful training guides for marathons and half-marathons.
I do lots of walking and I did find some of the book helpful but would suggest it is mainly for beginners. If you are doing the Moonwalk, this would be an excellent training guide.
0Comment| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 May 2009
Having been a runner training for 10K races, when I was diagnosed with breast cancer, I was loathed to give it up. However, two weeks into chemo I had to admit that even a short run was too much for me which left me frustrated and down.

Then I decided to put together a walking plan so that I can walk myself fit through chemo and once it is over I can take up my running again.

This book is asthetically pleasing, with nice colour pictures and an layout which is easy on the eye.

It is packed full of really useful advice such as the correct footwear to have, what to wear, exercises to strengthen your core muscles, how to power walk, nutrition and some great ready made plans to follow.

I am really pleased with this book.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2004
A great inspiration! Really easy to read with a good layout, clear diagrams and pictures, and packed with all you need to know about Power-Walking. All aspects are covered from shoes to meditation, training programmes to weight loss. The exercises cover yoga, pilates and general stretching in an easy to follow format. It explains a really accessible way to get fit. I recommend it.
0Comment| 44 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2007
This book is great if power-walking is what you want to do. Unfortunately this is not implied in the title. Any information you might want about how normal walking can make you fit is simply not here. This is for serious fitness freaks only. Unfortunately thats not me, so the book is no use to me at all.
0Comment| 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2009
This is a really useful book with all kinds of information for anyone who enjoys walking. The layout of the book makes it easy to read and find the tips you are looking for, with clear photographs to illustrate excercises and walking techniques.This is a book for everyone regardless of age or fitness. There are walking plans for those walking a marathon or just for losing weight and toning. At £9.99 its brilliant value and much cheaper than a gym!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
This book is not about WALKING for fitness, it's about POWER walking for fitness, a totally different concept. A lot of the book also is spent pushing the authors own ideas on nutrition, promoting vegetarianism, or vegan, and backing up with unsubstantiated claims that a) meat is unhealthy and b) vegetarians live for longer. Very little of the book is thus about plain walking. A poor book, not fit for purpose if you are a walker, for a power walker, there are some interesting bits on technique and how to take it up. I'm afraid I won't be bothering.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2015
this book is American based the weather is always warm and sunny try a English winter. i had to lower my weight and blood pressure my doctor said walk 3 times aday but all so eat right i.e more fish veg fruit etc so i did and i lost 3 stone just walking 3 times aday i got in to pole walking or Nordic walking that gives a whole body work out ,but this book was a great help it gives work outs for you to follow even how to look after your feet which is important but is their any finer thing to walk in the country on a sunny day with bird song all around it beats a gym and will cost you next to nothing to do but as always in britian buy some water proofs or find a pub near by
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
The author Nina Barough developed breast cancer in 1997 and in her efforts to restore herself to health discovered the benefits of walking and in particular power walking.While the book focuses on the technique of power walking, which is fully explained in the book,all the advice offered can apply to ordinary walking too.It is a complete manual for a healthy lifestyle, well laid out in nine chapters and each chapter is further sub-divided into short headed paragraphs which deal with every aspect of the chapter theme. The contents page is excellent. you can see at a glance the chapter headings and sub-headings and go straight to the information you seek. It is not just a practical book but an inspirational book as well.Each chapter has an inspirational quote from a well known author. The illustrations are superb and explain in detail the important details of each chapter. Each chapter has a coloured text box which summarises the key points of the chapter. There is a very good cross referencing system.When the author refers to something which is dealt with in more detail in another section she gives the page numbers. The index is comprehensive and there is a useful list of further resources at the end.The language used throughout is clear, concise and unambiguous.The only criticism I would have of the book is that all the photographs are of young, fit men and women.While walking can be enjoyed by all age groups it would have been nice if the illustrations reflected this fact. Some of the text in the Training Programmes section was printed on a patterned background in a very small print which was difficult to read. This is a book which will be a reference book in your library for many years. Walking for Fitness
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)