Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
39
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£30.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2017
Superb book full of information, highly recommended. They say you cannot judge a book by it's cover, well you can this - perfect for the family and wonderful images.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2017
Absolutely fantastic !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2017
The best Dk encyclopedia
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2017
Great book, fast delivery
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2015
Good condition. Good price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 April 2012
This second edition of 'Animal' is a fantastic book that I am really pleased to be the owner of.

I bought it for my children (age 15 and under) who love reading up on different animals, but have spent far more time going through it than them. The first thing to notice is the soft furry front cover - almost feels like you are touching Zebra skin!

The book is well organised into sections as follows:

1. Introduction (Evolution, classification, etc) - 20 pages
2. Habitats (around the world, on land and in water) - 55 pages
3. The Animal Kingdom (mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians and fish) - 420 pages
4. Invertebrates - 75 pages
5. Glossary and Index - 25 pages

The pages are on nice quality paper, and the content has a good level of depth with stunning photography of animals big and small.

It is a very heavy book so probably not suitable for younger children. I owned the first edition about 6 years ago, which was also brilliant and of similar size, but that was soon vandalised by my little angels. They are older and even more obedient now so, touch wood, this book should last longer.

At under £20 it is a really good investment. You will not find another book like it as a reference on animals.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have the Norwegian version of this book, and I must say it's an absolutely lovely visual and informative feast for anyone interested in animals or natural history.

Interestingly, in Norwegian, this book has the same title as Reader Digest's "Living World of Animals" from 1970. It's a completely different book, however, though of course some of its aim is the same: to be a visual, informative and comprehensive guide to the world's major species of animals, as up to date as it can be at the time of printing.

Unlike the older book, this one doesn't go into the evolution of animals. After an introductory section of major habitats, it reads mostly like a visual encyclopedia of animals, sorted by class and order, with beautiful pictures throughout, and some animals picked out for special double-spread treatment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This book is a living example of why the e-book will never entirely take over. It delivers both form and function - to begin with the cover is unusual in that the Zebra depicted actually has a furry coat - a novelty, but it's certainly not a case of form over function. Inside the book it is printed on very high quality paper and beautifully illustrated with just the right level of detailed text for the "average person" covering all the major species and conservation issues in some detail. There is no single author to this book, rather, it is collection of high quality contributions from specialists in particular fields ensuring accuracy and currency of the information. This is a genuine "coffee table book" (but not just a picture book) that you will browse time after time, and, as a result, develop your knowledge of the natural world. I am not surprised that this book was Virginia McKenna's (of Born Free fame) choice of a luxury item on "BBC Desert Island Discs". It also represents superb value for money - the production quality and knowledge captured in this book make it seem alomst underpriced. Recommended.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2012
The pictures for each species are really clear and catchy. So well done to the photographer. I thought I knew wildlife species until I read this encyclopedia. I haven't heard of half of the mammels noted down with each their own data.
Overall a great animal guide.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
I bought this book for my inquisitive three and six year olds, who have suddenly and thankfully, finally found a love of all things animal! We have been taking them to zoos since they were babies and maybe, with the distraction of the playgrounds and ice cream stalls, have never taken much of an interest in tired and bored looking captive animals.

Thankfully exposure to shows like Planet Earth and Frozen Planet, as well as Barneys Latin America on CBBC (highly recommended too!) have shown him that animals can do a bit more than sitting motionless in an enclosure.

This book, as you can see from the Look Inside preview, has just about every animal from every continent, pictured and with just enough summary information to keep them interested, along with info on their size, habitat and geographical location. There is additional information and larger sections on more widely known animals like Elephants, Bears and Sharks.

For the price, this cannot be beaten, it is nearly 4cm thick and the pages are printed in thick durable paper. In my opinion this book should be regarded as the number one reference guide for animal lovers everywhere.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)