Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
116
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 February 2009
Purchasers of all First Aid Manuals should beware of buying anything published earlier than this one - especially earlier than Jan.2006 when the life support protocol changed. Only buy the most up to date as first aid has changed considerably in the last two or three years. This one is bang up to date.
0Comment| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2010
This manual comes from a well known establishment, so we know to trust it. It`s very well laid out, easy to read and most of the pictures help to explain the procedures well. If you are a First Aider, you need more information on how to act, and about the HSE legislation, you get this on an official course or highly recommended is a DVD which covers everything in clear step by step videos First Aid - A Comprehensive Guide (October 2010 Protocol) [DVD] [2011]. This was featured recently on the SHP site, and is very well done.

Saving lifes and giving First Aid boils down to common sense and quick thinking. With the knowledge you get from this book, coupled with common sense, you will be able to act more confidently.

Bottom line, if you wanting basic First Aid knowledge in the home, this book alone is perfect. If you want to watch and learn, or you`re a First Aider, then grab both book and DVD, and you`ll be an expert.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
This is an excellent refernce book for first aid users.
It was recommended by the Red Cross tutor at the First Aid training session. Illustrations are clear and simple and the instructions are straightforward. 1st Class and Amazon cuts the purchase price too !
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 May 2013
I Recently Brought this product for my son who has joined st john ambulance cadets and has a test in 6 weeks time and he wanted this to help revise over the recovery position, CPR, Burns, fractures And So On.

St. John Ambulance Cadets Are Great And Provide First Aid At Local Events If Your Aged Between 10-17 why not join?
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Yes it is a superb book, with easy to follow instructions on what to do in an emergency. I did first aid with St Johns every year for many years but things change all the time and this book is good reading. I saw a programme on TV about first aid a few weeks ago which prompted me to buy the book as we live in the middle of nowhere and I had forgotten a lot as you do.
Having bought it I got to the scene of a crash with a boy on a motorbike and thank god I had read it properly.
So yes all in all an excellent easy to read book with diagrams etc ...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2009
Excellent up to date manual for the RYA first aid course.Modern easy to understand layout and good use of photos. Hypothermia and use of epipen covered so also useful for first aid for teachers course.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2011
This manual comes from a well known establishment, so we know to trust it. It`s very well laid out, easy to read and most of the pictures help to explain the procedures well. If you are a First Aider, you need more information on how to act, and about the HSE legislation, you get this on an official course or highly recommended is a DVD which covers everything in clear step by step videos First Aid Training - A Comprehensive Guide (October 2010) [DVD] [2011]. This was featured recently on the SHP site, and is very well done.

Saving lifes and giving First Aid boils down to common sense and quick thinking. With the knowledge you get from this book, coupled with common sense, you will be able to act more confidently.

Bottom line, if you wanting basic First Aid knowledge in the home, this book alone is perfect. If you want to watch and learn, or you`re a First Aider, then grab both book and DVD, and you`ll be an expert.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 5 September 2013
I bought two used copies - one marked as very good and the other as good from the same seller.

Both were very good copies. The covers were plasti-coated with printing on the covers.

One plastic cover edge on top front was a little creased along the edge.

I have bought worse as new off shelves in W H Smiths.

I am thrilled to have got these important books 2009 versions for such low prices.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2011
The revisions to the book are very minor and could be written on one A4 piece of paper,
unless you are using the book for FAW exam I would suggest keeping the unrevised 9th edition.
Slight changes to CPR protocol, use of elevation sling, choking and one or two minor alterations.
Chapters and page numbers are unchanged. Nevertheless still a good buy and a must in any household.
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2013
A brilliant manual as the pictures tell you all you need to know.
A great book to have in the house for emergencies and just to study so you know what to do if...
Dorling Kindersley know how to do this kind of book that is easy to use, visually spot on with enough information well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)