Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 June 2016
As we only had six days this book was ideal, with plenty of ideas of where to visit and enough information to make the best choices. It is easy to use and tells you far more than you'd guess for a book this size. There are loads of different lists, including Children's Activities, Culinary Highlights, and Things to Avoid, which I only found after we'd been there a few days and really made me laugh (because it was all true). Thanks to this book I even knew to tip the unofficial car parking attendant. This isn't the first Top 10 guidebook I've bought and it won't be the last.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
Mary-Ann Gallagher's Top 10 Travel Guide is a very good pocket sized guide to explore the rich heritage of the Malta and its islands Gozo and Comino, even for non native English speakers. Its structure is excellent due to a Top 10 overview of whatever kind of holiday experience you would like to have. Do you want to travel to Malta to explore its more than 7000 year's old cultural heritage? This guide leads you around the fascinating sites all over the three islands. Do you want to enjoy its wonderful climate, sunbathe and go out every evening? This guide shows you the place to be. Do you need to entertain young children? Lots of things to discover and explore.
In addition, the practical information is accurate (September 2015). With this travel guide, a schedule of the public transportation (busses and ferries) and a public transportation pass for 21 euro valid for one week with unlimited use of the busses both on Malta and Gozo you have everything you need to have a holiday experience precisely as you intented it to be. Your stay will be too short, you will return with wonderful memories and decide to return.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2016
Useful small travel guide with good maps. Not a huge amount of information on Valletta (where I was going) as the guide is small & covers the whole island but there was enough to find my way around & choose what I wanted to do.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
The DK series has a good name in our household. The books are reasonably resistant to folding, and are durable enough to survive the handling which travel guides often experience.As there is only a certain amount of Malta to write about, so this volume is quite slim.
The attempt to include several maps to different scales, which fold up into the rear flap, succeeds, but contains a serious error. It advertises the island's ten best beaches, but even the travel trade there admit to there being only three. It runs foul of the Trade Description Act. You don't go to Malta to have the family build endless sandcastles in the sun. For a start, those same authorities confess to summer temperatures in the mid, or even upper, 40s.
Another weakness is the means of treating the history of the island. You don't visit passively and expect to be entertained. To get the best out of the experience it's necessary to be familiar with the history of the island.. The DK guide deals with this in bite-size chunks, based upon the location being described at the time. Thus there is no continuity which allows a clear picture of how events have followed, one after the other, to interact. A short history need not be formidable, but doesn't find a place in this slim volume.Get yourself better informed elsewhere before your departure.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2017
I find that the Dorling-Kindersley country and area guides are effectively the definitive 'must have' travel companions
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2016
You cannot beat an Eyewitness Guide. It has all the basics and more. I like the photos so you can see where you are going.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2015
Plenty of information and a good starting point as to where to go/stay/eat. Small enough to pop in luggage without too much weight.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2017
Very helpful, usual excellence of Top 10 series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2015
Gave us everything we needed to know about what was worth seeing, doing and eating. Also found the maps very good which are in at the back of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2011
A Great general guide to Malta and Gozo. It would be better to have more details on the places in island and more information on the best ways to get to visited the sites. Overall it is a good introduction the the Island of Malta and Gozo and is a handy size to take on holiday as a reference book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)