Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
19
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon 31 October 2009
I have used many Dorling Kindersley guidebooks and they are all visually stunning.

This one keeps up the excellent standard. If you like interesting history and architecture and decent food then this book is for you.

This volume - exceptional value - is all you will need for the area of Naples and the Amalfi coast.

So, what's inside? Maps of all the important parts of the cities, history of each area, important places to go with addresses and opening times. The travelers needs section gives information on places to stay and eat, shops and markets in the areas and the entertainment that's available. I love the drawn "exploded views" of buildings - these are really quite superb! Also the plans of Pompeii and Herculaneum are great.

In fact everything you could want to know and see.

Most impressive areas in the book are: Naples, Pompeii, Mount Vesuvius, Herculaneum, Sorrento, Paestum, Capri & Ischia. Quite a stunning line-up!

I whole-heartedly recommend this DK book. A brilliant book for a stunning area of italy! Enjoy!
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2010
The eyewitness travel guides are well written and accurate. The books are written in a slightly odd way with restaurants and hotels right at the end of the book instead of next to the area being described.

The information on Naples was good, with good road maps and detail on attractions. However there were no maps of the Metro and the Funicular or details of bus routes. Descriptions on how and where to purchase tickets for travel on trains, buses and boats were also lacking.

The detail on the Amalfi coast was extremely limited, the Rough Guide book was far better for these areas.

So in all, good for a trip to Naples but not so good for the Amalfi Coast.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2012
We recently moved just outside of Naples. Knowing we only had 6 months here we wanted to make the most of our free time. I ordered this brand for the first time. It's fabulous. The detail of the complicated train lines and attractions has been very helpful. The break down in to smaller areas with matching maps has been exceptional. Even down to the cafes and eateries, known locally as the best we've learnt. A real experience of naples has been used to write this book. I would absolutely recommend this book and brand. So much so I've brought and used the same brand for Italy and the other places we have visited since.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Lavishly illustrated but relatively sparse on accompanying text and useful information, this is of much better use for planning your holiday in so far as deciding what you would like to visit, than for use whilst actually on holiday. It serves the former purpose reasonably well though.

As another reviewer noted, this Eyewitness guide very much concentrates on Naples which also reduces its usefulness for staying in or visting places in the Sorrento peninsula and the Amalfi coast as in my case. I mostly made use of The Rough Guide to Naples and the Amalfi Coast whilst there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2012
Generally we have found the Eyewitness series to be excellent, so we bought this to cover the Amalfi Coast as well as Naples.
If you are planning a trip to the Amalfi Coast only, look elsewhere. The information is extremely limited - just a few paragraphs about Positano, Ravello, Praiano etc, so not much better than a weight in the travel bag. The photo of the beach at Praiano must be 30 years old - it looks nothing like that now!
Disappointing, and really should only have Naples in the title
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2011
Found this guide very useful, especially in Naples where it was helpful in finding decent restaurants etc. Good city map and clear pictures also helped us decide what to visit. More about Naples than Amalfi peninsula which was a bit more sketchy, but still helpful. Well worth the price for a visit to this area.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2011
The localities are so carefully described and referenced, that you can confidently use this super guide to plan your stay and plan your day trips down to the last detail, and it is the right size to take along with you. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2012
Having bought DK Eyewitness travel guides before, I had no reservations about ordering this product at all. Certainly is very informative and well laid out.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
This guide helped us find all the worthwhile sights of the area around Naples and the west coast, a must buy for travellers to Italy's west coast.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2010
Like all D K travel guides, if you are visiting places don't go without this essential,informative and helpful guide.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)