Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
65
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 31 August 2011
This is a very well-illustrated and easy to follow guide to the physical structures of the body, organised into logical sections. It explains how the injuries occur and what the implications are in terms of impact upon your sport and more general physical activities. However, on treatment it is less full and clearly expects that the reader will consult professional help in the form of physiotherapists or other medical specialists. For someone looking for self-help treatment and exercises etc., other books are more useful, and the Grisogono 'Sports Injuries' book, though now out of print, still takes some beating in this regard. It can be bought second hand on Amazon and via other sources.
11 comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
Was unsure when ordering this if it would be helpful to me but so pleased that I ordered it, the illustrations are beautifully detailed with the different sports and the injuries associated logically written so that even a novice like myself was able to easily comprehend. With sections on preventing injuries and rehabiltation also and exercises too, this is an excellant book that I will refer to often. Iam studying Sports massage Therapy but am not "sporty" myself so this has opened my eyes to the diverse range of problems I may be dealing with. I consider this a valuable tool for anyone either studying sports massage therapy, fitness or even personal use.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
The book is well written, graphically pleasing on the eye and informative.
Although you will have to do a lot of flicking back and forth between the relevant sections, and probably write some notes, due diligence will be rewarded.
I suffered a groin strain also and tore some muscles in my thigh from martial atrs.
I saw the local physio at the NHS hospital and they gave me one or two exercises to improve strength, with little or no guidelines on progression or a timeline for recovery.
This book gave me at least 16 basic exercises, then another dozen intermediate exercises to do.It also gave some guidelines on how to get back to full strength. If you are careful and methodical and pay due regard to what your own body is telling you then this book will really help.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2016
This book is very basic "GCSE" level or the kind of writing you'd expect to find in The Sun. Its more of a quick reference book to be left in a school teachers office or for very basic injuries. This is not for someone who is experienced and read lots on the internet, and who is looking for some next level answers to questions such as running/gate/over-pronation, descriptions of such are very limited.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
I've been a coach in a multitude of sports over the years and like most others of my ilke subject to regular CRB checks and 100's of hours in First Aid Courses but no matter what you learn in those courses it's impossible to retain every symtom of every injury even if you deal with them every day,which, if your a good coach should never happen.I wanted something I could refer to quickly when presented with a sore wrist,shoulder or knee for example.This book is ideal for that and more besides.Excellent!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2015
I've had a few injuries/ surgeries in the past, and wanted something to help build up my strength and flexibility without doing any further damage. I was recommended this book by a friend that has a sports rehab background. The book is pretty simple to follow, with clear instructions and images.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2013
Great book. 108 pages devoted to sports injuries, what medical treatment is required and what to probably to expect with the physiotherapy that you will receive when injured from the early stage all the way up to your return to sport.

The treatment and rehabilitation section is split up into mobility, strength training, proprioception and plyometric exercises. I find the mobility section great and have added a few mobility drills into my warm up.

Great information supplied within this book. If your interested in training and would like a bit more knowledge of training smart and how to avoid injuries, treat an existing injury or even keep on the straight and narrow after an injury this is the book for you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2013
My masseur recommended this book. It is very useful for self help and for helping friends who may sports or even everyday injuries. Helps understand the way the body works, and what NOT to do. Easy to understand and helps to enable you to explain to a professional what you think is wrong, which assists diagnosis and therefore treatment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2016
Good value, super accurate detail about specific injuries and related body parts. Very well laid out and presented throughout with excellent Table of Contents, cross references and index. There are gaps and significant omissions though e.g. you will find some detail on adductors but not abductors, you will find hip injuries such as trochanteric bursitis and hip labral tears and FAI but little detail about hip flexor injuries (rectus femoris).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2013
this book is really good detailed pictures and symptoms of common sports injuries showing you causes, symptoms and treatments i find this book really good for refreshing my memory as a trainer i use this as a ref guide when i get asked and it is very detailed great book cheap price full of knowledge
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)