Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Moana - Listen with Prime Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
32

on 11 February 2014
We bought this as part of our "I'll soon be 9" grandson's Christmas present. Like all children of his age he often starts questions with "how" and "why". He is a keen reader and now keen to look things up himself and finds it satisfying that he has found out for himself. The information is set out well, with sufficient detail for children to find interesting without being too detailed. Invaluable for homework projects - and safer to use than trawling the internet.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2017
Bought for granddaughter, she loves it and is always looking up information
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 October 2017
good value
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 November 2017
Kids love it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 March 2017
Great book for the kids, i bought it for my kid and i found it really informative and easy to understand......
Thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 November 2017
Good quality book. Our son used it quite a lot already. Very happy with the purchase. Thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2017
amazing!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 March 2008
Our whole family has devoured the 2000 edition of this book, from the 6 year old to the grandparents. It's a great easy reference book for basic information prior to looking things up in more detail on the internet or in specialist books. It covers all sorts of popular people, places and things, as well as history, concepts and ideas. Items are alphabetically listed, with a huge index and various cross-references, complete with illustrations, photos and maps. Once you read one page, you can't help but start on the next item. Great for children to stretch their reading abilities on, and for adults alike as it's just an interesting read. Every household should have a copy!
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2012
Remembering with affection a pictorial encyclopaedia I had as a 5-8 year old I set out looking for something suitable for my 4 1/2 year old grandson. There are plenty of contenders out there and it took a while to narrow my search down to a manageable number. I eventually went with this one because, a) It appeared to be pitched at the younger child without being babyish, b) the size and breadth of content indicated it would give an overview and stimulate further research, and c)previous experience of books by the publisher - Dorling Kindersley, have left me with confidence in their product.
Happily, when the book showed up it was EXACTLY what I'd been looking for! A quality product with enough, really well researched and presented information to keep any 5 - 10 year old (and their parents/grand-parents!) amused for hours on end. In addition, every single topic has a 'safe' URL for the child to look up on their parents computer in order to gather more information on the subject.
Well done Dorling Kindersley and Amazon - an excellent purchase
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 March 2013
I don't normally bother with reviews but had to on this one. It's a fantastic encyclopaedia, tonnes of great diagrams, good range of information for 7-9 year olds and more than likely older. But best of all, it seems to be one of the few (only?) encyclopaedia that is set out in alphabetical order rather than in categories. So if you want to read about Evolution you flick to the 'E' section rather than try and work out which section it might be in.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here