Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

3.7 out of 5 stars
11
3.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 March 2017
Great content. Book arrived in good, used condition as described.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Outstanding value for money for a quality hard backed book. I would recommend this book to any photographer what ever their level of knowledge and skills. It is esay to understand and covers a many different areas with lots of references to experts in each area. It can be used both as a reference book and one to read cover to cover. It is full of photographs illustrating different areas of photography. I cannot fault the book an it should be essential reading for all photographers.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2011
It's not a step-by-step instructional book but more a book giving the user insight into the making of a picture. It goes some way into looking into the thought process behind great images. There are some tips on camera settings, focal lengths but these are far and few between. You'll probably need to understand these first and the basics of composition before this book. However, if you do, then this book covers different categories and genres of photography from portrait to landscape and sports to travel. I guess it's pretty much all there. Each section takes an in-depth analysis from a selected photographer's portfolio which I've found very interesting and enlightening. I'm one of those people who believe studying other people's work is how you can improve your own - not that I am much good anyway. It's a hard-back book which is unusual at this price and the paper quality and imagery is top-class - albeit a little small in some (as pointed out). However, the important images are not small.
If you're looking for a bit of inspiration and a bit of technique and wanting to develop your eye for composition - then this is the book for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2010
Got it as a gift for Christmas and as a Budding! Photographer myself i really love this book!

It has some excellent tips for many different types of photography with great examples and even better as all the pictures in the book are amazing to look at!

Definite must have for any photographer in the making! 5 Stars
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
This is a great book to help amateur and professionals alike, everyone will get something from this, Tom Ang strikes again with another fabulous book, well put together, easy reading and understanding terminology made easy, a great buy and also used as a reference. Hats off to Mr Ang.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2012
As always, Tom Ang, guides you, not too tightly, and allows you to explore your own creations, well worth the money
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 December 2010
Tom Ang's "The Complete Photographer" is a different type of photography book, being less technically focused on the camera and more creatively orientated, looking at creating the photo using location light and other environmental factors.

As with many book it is broken into sections - portrait, landscape, fashion & nude, nature, sports, documentary, events, travel, architecture and fine art, but the approach is quite different. Each section has an introduction, a tutorial on a specific technical aspect, an image analysis and an assignment. There are then 2 subsections in each section looking at the work of, and interviewing, professional photographers, giving an insight into why they do what they do and how they achieve their results.

One of the negatives of the book is that, as one of the previous reviewers has pointed, many of the photos are small, however this is balanced by the number of images. For me the real downside was the lack of technical information on the images. Camera settings are given for some of the larger images but I would have liked to see this for more of the photos. Of course, this may be deliberate to encourage the reader to think beyond the camera.

Overall, this is a nice book with a novel and interesting approach to photography. It's not really the "Complete Photographer" and if I could have only one photography book then it wouldn't be this one - it's just not comprehensive enough. But as a fresh perspectrive on the subject, it's a welcome addition to the photography bookshelf.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
This was a gift , the recipient was very pleased with it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
No use for an amateur. This seems mostly designed for the author to show off how well travelled he is. As far as learning tips, that's great so long as you can pop over to Mumbai whenever necessary.
Many of the more interesting images are too small so it is not even good to flick through.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2014
The book itself is not too bad but I received the used one that was listed as good \and it was a copy taken from a public library...!!! I had to dispose the book it was absolutely a waste of moneys!!!
22 Comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)