Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
11
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 September 2010
DK Eyewitness Guide's have never failed me. I have bought a few now and they are packed with the information that you need and don't always think about. Particularly the back few pages titled 'StreetSmart' teaching about the social do's and don'ts of the place. It lists the top 10's for the major sightseeing destinations as well as the top 10 budget accomodation, mid-range and luxury accomodation. The fold out map is a bonus with plenty of references throughout the guide so you can plan your experience from start to finish. It does not overload you with information, just something to get your brain ticking and teach you some useful information about the place you wish to visit. Enjoy :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2010
As always with Dorling Kindersley, the photos are stunning, and the layout easy to follow. This is a nice book to have on your coffee table, as you are drawn into it.
A good book to dip in and out of, but you may prefer The Rough Guide if you want more substance.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2015
A little more history and facts would have been appreciated, but it is a concise pocket-sized book.The maps (including the centre of Cairo, Aswan, Kings' Valley) were very useful throughout our stay. The book is colour-coded, features excellent (though small) pictures, and lists all the main things tourists generally go for in Egypt. However, do not count on it for up-to-date detailed information on where to buy tickets, hidden features of the city, or a great deal of historical detail. While the street-smart part was generally useful, I think the cultural part of Egyptian life is something you are not warned about enough (neither as a European or a female traveller).

If you are looking for a small guide that lists what the main attrations are along the Nile, go for it. It certainly features stunning pictures to make you want to go to Egypt. However, this is really just a list, and not something I would call a real 'guide'. If you want to read a great deal about the journey you are about to undertake, I do recommend getting a book with more material in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2011
This guide contains a great deal of detail of places of interest. Mentions everything you would want to see on your travels.Certainly got me motivated into booking a holiday to see the pyramids and all the sights including a nile cruise. Found the book invaluable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2011
This is a good guide with some excellent advice and has most interesting places to visit.
Maps aren't much use in Cairo, a lot of the roads don't have signs so you don't always know where you are or what way you are heading.
Generally I would recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2010
Excellent little book. Easy to carry around and great for cross-referencing. If you want a lot of detail, this is not the one for you - but it has basic information on many topics and lots of helpful hints. Well worth the money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2016
It was average, it didn't look as good as a brand new book, and the front cover had a small crease. If it had been meant as a gift Id have sent it back but it was alright just for me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
Just what I wanted, a quick reference guide to Egypt. It will complement the other books I have on this country.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2010
it is ok to be short and pocket size...but this is really too synthetic. It does not give you any info more than the tour program of the travel agency. I would not buy it again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2011
Very good text. Very clear and concise. If you know where you think you want to go, this is the guide for you. Sussinct and clear pictures. However the picture on Abu Simbei is out of date. No lake next to the temple as the temple has been moved.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)