Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
34
4.7 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 April 2017
A comprehensive book of different styles of drawing. Very informative.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2017
Excellent book, recommended by my tutor. Delighted to receive this hardback copy in excellent condition and at a very reasonable price.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2017
Absolutely full of interesting and practical images. A great resource.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2009
A well presented and informative book with top quality illustrations. Sarah Simblet's unquestionable skills in drawing and communicating have been given full rein. The inclusion of some of the chapters seemed a bit arbitrary, e.g "Hauntings", "Monsters" & "Convolutions", and such items take up space which I would have preferred to see given to more in depth exploration of some of the key skills and examples. Overall I believe the book would have benefitted from having more space given to the excellent techniques, tools and materials sections, and useful topics such as the Travel Journal.

Some of the most important aspects of drawing have been given the same emphasis as topics which are better covered in specialist books, and I think this is an imbalance in an otherwise useful addition to a good art library.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2010
useful drawing manual with emphasis on illustrating a diverse range of drawing and mark making approaches, including examples by well established artists alongside the author's own drawings . By not using a simplistic step by step approach, this books instead encourages readers to try techniques and learn from looking. Refreshingly broad and intelligent approach which does not favour a particular slant or direction of drawing style.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2005
One fo the best books on drawing I have seen in a long time, it rivals Smagulas Creative Drawing book easily which is also very good. A welcome antidote to the basic drawing by numbers books that line bookshop shelves these days.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2011
I have collected all of Sarah Simbletts books. They are a superb addition to any artist's bookshelf. This book will appeal to artists of all abilities - even those who lack the level of skill displayed will be inspired to have a go at the many subjects depicted in this excellent volume.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2015
As an intro to drawing, this is an intimidating book. Even for me, after a long hiatus since my teens drawing for fun, as an adult this was of limited use in terms of 'technique', attempting to elucidate the art of drawing in a very unpractical manner despite the title, with little focus on 'how'. Interesting but disappointing.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2011
This is a fantastic book. Even if you don't draw it's a wonderful book to browse through. There are drawings by a wide range of artists as well as those of the author herself. This book will really inspire you to start drawing. Everyone draws as a child and then many give up which is a great pity. Virtually every aspect of drawing is covered including drawing from the imagination. There are also sections on materials and on things such as posture and ways of holding the pencil - if you hold your pencil as you do for writing it restricts you. There are sections on composition, drawing elipses etc. This book will make you appreciate drawings in exhibitions. I would really recommend this book.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
Lovely book. Everything you need to know about drawing techniques. Very good illustrations. Easy to follow. An excellent book for beginner and the more experienced artist. I would certainly recommend this book
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)