Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
56
4.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£20.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 October 2010
It is difficult to see how this book could be produced for under £100. The sheer volume of excellent quality photos, with just a handful of painted illustrations is beyond comprehension.There is just sufficient information provided to make every page interesting. For the low price that this book commands, no bookshelf should be without a copy. Just one compaint - don't expect to use it for bedtime reading, as the exceptional weight will probably deter you from lugging it upstairs !
0Comment| 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 16 November 2010
OK not everything on earth is in here, and DK know that, but they have had a darn good try at getting as much as they can crammed in. This is all achieved without skimping on quality mind you, as the photographs and illustrations can only be described as lavish, and the accompanying text is neither dumbed down, patronising or too dense to understand. In fact this is a quite remarkable old fashioned encyclopedia brought bang up to date and deserves its place on a bookshelf near you. No online database can offer the richness and sheer enjoyment you will get dabbling in this impressive tome
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2010
This astonishing and breathtaking book marks the pinnacle of natural history publishing. With the growth in multimedia technology this book is unlikely ever to be surpassed by another work of print alone. The rich deep natural colours of the photographs, the clear and concise prose make it an accessible book for all age groups from 7 years upwards. Many of the articles and pictures inspire further research and study, and the sheer pleasure of holding and browsing this book will make you want to keep it close to your favourite armchair.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2016
All I can say is WOW. There are literally almost no words to describe how amazing this book is. I bought it as a present at a very good price of £20 and I agree with other reviewers who say this book should cost much more. First of all, it's huge and it covers tons of stuff. You can check out the video attached to the description and images of this book on Amazon to see what I'm talking about. The video is a very good indicator of what you're getting but nothing beats the feeling when you're holding it in your hands. I was like, oh my God, totally in awe. Anyone, not just a nature lover, will love this book. It can be a great coffee table book (if your coffee table can handle the weight of it) for your family and your guests. It's thanks to this book that I discovered DK Publishing and I think that of all their books I've seen, this one is the most beautiful. If you can get it at a decent price, don't hesitate to buy it. Everyone should have a book like that.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2011
First of all this is a BIG book at 648 pages with 5000 images. It is truly encyclopaedic and it is obvious from the outset that it has been put together by some very clever people. It does not shy away from some hard science, as it reflects the natural world through the currently recognised "taxonomic" classification. What an endeavour - the whole of natural history (including rocks and fossils) in one tome!

Now there are probably 10 million plants, animals and fungi out there, so how can you chose what to include. Well the answer is you get some of the familiar and some of the oddities to try to reflect the true diversity of life. So when I looked at this book I looked for some of my old friends (yes there were some there) then, once reassured, could revel in the new-but-familiar, and many down right weird ones.

Order runs through scientists like the proverbial Brighton through the rock, and this books oozes this systematic scientific approach to the natural world, but in an easily understood way.

Each page contextualises the plants and animals into their kingdoms, classes, orders etc.. Each species is given its full English and scientific name and a short description, including identifying features and where it is found. Sometimes its habitat is also mentioned. In addition to these, each order has a more detailed description and for some species there are feature articles. This nicely breaks up the book's structure to provide a deeper insight into some of the "stars".

The pages of this book remind me those exciting, and slightly secret, museum specimen cabinets that most people ignore, but which invite the curious to open the up and peak inside. Each drawer holds another set of wonders from some far away place and the specimens speak of adventures in hot climes, where the only company is the leech and mosquito. However don't get me wrong - this book is not fusty and dull - its vibrant and exciting. Each page stands out with brilliance displaying a wondrous range of species.

It is a book that will particularly appeal to a younger audience who have, or are acquiring, an interest in the natural world. However don't think that only they will enjoy it. I suspect that it also may act as the catalyst for an interest not previously discovered. I really hope so, as what more can a book offer than to open a door to a lifetime of delight in the plants and animals that we share this planet with. Who knows, maybe the next David Attenborough is out there and will be inspired by this book.

This is not a book to use to enable you to identify species, per se, but enables the reader to get a thorough overview and helps contextualise them.

Do I have any criticisms? Maybe a a few small ones - I would have liked to have seen more detail at the front of the book about each subject, particularly habitats, which are so important in understanding species adaptations. I am not sure why rocks have been included, although they are of course interesting. Also some of the animal images fall slightly short of DK's normal high standards, but I expect that is because they are very hard to come by - this is being really picky though, and in no way spoils my enjoyment of this book.

I am a big fan of DK travel books, but I must admit was rather ignorant of the breath of their range and so will be taking another look now to see what other gems are waiting to be discovered...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
This is a huge beautiful book. Its a lot larger than I thought it would be, but that's not a complaint. There has obviously been a lot of work put into this and it shows. The pictures are colourful and clear. The only complaint is that there is very little text with each picture, but that's understandable considering the price and size of the book as it is. And anyway, this is more of a visual guide... which this exceeds at.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2014
I think this is the best visual book we have. It's so unbelievably comprehensive. I love it and our daughter absolutely loves it. The best thing is just turning to a random page and looking at how many incredible animals and plants there are that you just can't imagine. The book also contains a great section on the earth, geology, etc. A really beautiful book. Will also be perfect for school projects
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2013
I use this as a reference book for making models of animals & birds and, when my 20-something son came to stay he spent ages leafing through it. He said he'd like something like this, and it stayed on his birthday/Christmas wish-list for so long, that I eventually took him seriously and bought him a copy. He spends ages with his tiny daughter looking at the hundreds and hundreds of animals.

It's amazing to look at and also very informative - a proper best buy. But do make sure that your bookshelf is big & strong enough to accommodate it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
Purchased this on a whim as it came up on the screen when I was buying another book. Great coffee table reference book. Just pick it up when the partner insists on watching a soap on the TV. It will take your mind off of the appauling acting and pathetic story lines.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2010
I got this book for my 3yrs son and my god its worth so much more than £16! so so much information. This book will last him for years and years!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)