Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
17
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
6
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 June 2009
DK Paris guede is perfect for the typical city tourism. It lists all the typical must see sights and they are very nicely illustrated. I gave it only 4 out of 5 stars, because there were (for my taste) a couple of things missing like more info about street markets (there are lots of nice ones) or channel cruises along St. Martins Channel and other transport possibilities on the Seine, besides the regular cruise boats like the Vogueo (that's a pendant to the Venezian Vaporetto and can be used with regular publec transport ticket), ...
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2009
I bought this guide for my son who was due to visit Paris with his girlfriend. The book is full of excellent information and pictures he has really enjoyed reading the book and planning the places they would visit. It has alll the information you could possibly need about travel, places to visit, places to eat etc! Can't recommend this guide enough and will definitely buy Eyewitness guides again.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2009
I bought this for a long weekend trip and it proved just what we were looking for. It has very good detailed maps of Paris which refreshingly meant we didn't have to spend the first morning trying to find a tourist centre to get hold of a map! There is just the right level of detail on the sights too and some fantastic tips on restaurants- although be warned a lot of restaurants are shut on Sunday evenings unless they are right in the tourist centre. There were also good tips on things like getting a Carnet (a book of 10 metro tickets) rather than individual tickets etc.

This was a fab guide to an excellent weekend!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 October 2009
I just love these Eyewitness guides, they are so colourful and vibrant. I bought this prior to my latest trip to Paris and found it so much better and more useful that other giudes I have used in the past. There is so much history and detail in it that I found places that I didn't know about despite several previous visits.

The book is split into really easy to follow sections - basically the diffrerent quarters (i.e. The Latin Quarter, Le Marais, Monmartre, The Opera Quarter etc). At the beginning of each section there is a small map of Paris at the bottom of the page highlighting where it is in relation to the other areas and then over the page a more detailed map of the sites in that area with snippets of info. The following pages go into more detail about various sites, buildings etc. It's choc full of so many things I wanted to cram into my weekend but alas some will have to be saved for another trip (any excuse!).

There is also loads of info on the best places to eat (again by area, and also price), different types of shops, markets etc as well as all the practical info about getting around and underground and overground maps. I read the whole things from start to finish before I left for Paris becuase I found it so interesting as a book as well as just a city guide.

I highly recommend this book - perfect for planning and drooling over.
11 comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2009
It's the best guide for people who want to plan their travels and want to have an idea in advance of what they are going to see
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2009
I have many of these guides at home from before and this is just another great guide from DK. I like the explanations and information provided there and the way they split up the guides.
It is sometimes hard to read as it is in fairly small print.
A bit heavy to bring on holiday but nice too read before you get there.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2010
As always, these guides never dissappoint. Informative and attractive to read / browse. Would always recommend DK Eyewitness Travel Guides. Enjoyable to read as well as useful for planning trips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2010
As always, Eyewitness Guides are the best. Visually attractive, no long, unreadable paragraphs, lovely photos and diagrams... maps, guides... Everything you need. Well done again DK!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2010
This book is full of useful information(e.g. history of Notre Dame) but sometimes too much too read on one page and quite difficult to look for the different areas of Paris
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2009
a very comprehensive guide. Pictures are excellent and practical information is up to date. Recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)