Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
11
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2009
A brilliant guide for anyone going to Venice. Loads of useful information, easy to follow and find what you want quickly. Not only does it guide you to the must see bits it also provides details about the sites. The various maps showing streets, ferry routes etc printed on the inside covers were good and so easy to turn to. Small enough to carry with you but packed with information. Thoroughly recommended.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2013
gives the best of the best, easy accessible layout, if you don't have a lot of time it's good to flip through to find the top attractions. it's in a small & compact size to take it out with you. comes with a map. it's the perfect travel companion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
A useful introduction to Venice that is easily transportable in pocket or bag, that contains the basic information on what to do, see, and partake of, for first timers to this magical but in places 'tourist heaving' destination.

It also contains two street maps of the city of varying scale and a 'take-out foldaway' street map, useful if you want to ditch the book sometimes and just take this small map which easily fits into a purse or shirt pocket. As far Venice Street maps are concerned these aren't half bad, but cannot said to be a true and faithful representation of what is actually on the ground in front of you. The locals will tell you that nobody has produced a map that accurately shows the streets of Venice as they actually are, due to the chaotic and higgledy-piggledy nature of way the construction of the city evolved over the centuries. But as said earlier The DK Eyewitness Venice Street Maps are better than most particularly those handed out by your hotel or tourist booth.

Being a tourist hot spot with the vast majority of visitors not returning does not incentivise restaurants to maintain the highest standards expected of Italian cuisine and prices are generally way above Italian averages, but this guide recommends a number of eateries that should buck this trend.

A general question that applies not only to this city but everywhere is "Why do establishments called Jazz Cafe's never ever have jazz music playing live or recorded?"

If you do nothing else in Venice, raise a second mortgage on your home, and do as this guide book suggests, have a coffee, and a Bellini Cocktail outside one of the 3 Grand Cafe's in St Mark's Square (Florian, Lavena, or Quadri) and take in the atmosphere and magic of their house orchestras playing some superb music with great panache and showmanship. The memory will last a lifetime.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2010
For me the size of the book is its greatest feature as it fits nicely into a small handbag or pocket and is not bulky and heavy. For such a small book there is so much in it that is helpful. Easy to find what you want with some helpful little maps of inner cities to enable one to identify street names to put in the SatNav. The extra pull-out map and guide is also a bonus as if a group wishes to split up then each has its own map for reference. Where it has been most useful is, with the wonderful descriptions of the various historical buildings with pictures, it is easy to identify ones own photographs and so remember where the picture was taken. I think some of the 'Best of .... in a day' suggestions were somewhat ambitious. It depends upon ones fitness and agility really and so perhaps this should be mentioned. Having purchased and used Florence & Tuscany Top 10 I am looking forward to using the books I have for Rome and Venice.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2010
Useful size of pocket book, and I think will be invaluable when we arrive in Venice.What I did like about it was, that because of the individual guide areas,it enables you to plan ahead, especially as you know next to nothing about Venice,for instance the unmissable palazzos and villas, which I wouldn't really have thought about until it was too late, we have only a week there so we are able to pick and chose somewhat in advance,there is a section on the best ways to explore Venice , therefore not wasting precious time and of course discussing with your partner areas that you will both enjoy and could highlight, it covers everything from walks to churches ,fun places for children and shopping and even a little phrase area in the back. I wished that there was a little more on hotels, but of course that would make the book not a pocket size!All in all a very useful little book which I know we will use
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 November 2002
Guidebooks in general are going to have their limitations. The main drawback to this one is that several of the maps are confusing. A larger, folding map is certainly an essential when trying to navigate (and I use the term literally here) this city. That said, this appeared to me on a recent visit to be extremely helpful, especially in terms of giving me an artistic/cultural overview of the main sites. The same could be said about the same company's editions of Rome and Italy proper. They don't dwell on frivolous detail. They are relatively compact and they will guide you to the places you want to go if you are interested primarily in art, history, and architecture, which I was. As an aside, for anyone who is serious about art I would suggest that before you go you aquaint or refresh yourself with Vasari's <Lives of the Artists> (Penguin suggested), Cellini's "Autobiography," and any Art book published by Rizzoli. Buy your guidebooks beforehand and determine which artists and which works are most important to you and try to pre-plan in your minds eye at least the path you want to take. Also ask some travel agents or discover on a website the museum hours and when the publice is allowed in free. While in Rome, my only chance to visit the Vatican, for instance, came on a Sunday, when there was free admission and early closure, which led to a rush-job through the Sistine Chapel. Don't rely entirely on an online site such as Rick Steves. My friend did and thought he could pretty much wing it through Italy. The "play it by ear approach" will lead to unbelievably costly delays and dissapointments. Plan! plan! plan!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2010
Even though this is THE book that every tourist has in Venice it is the book to take with you together with the full Dorling Kindersley guide book to Venice. It has the top 10 of everything to see ~ I hadn't realised that it would be so comprehensive.
For instance it gives you the top 10 sites in Venice and then for each one the top 10 things to see inside...and so on. Top 10 places to eat, top 10 churches, and on and on.
It is amazing how much is in this little book.
But everyone has it in every language but that is because it is so good!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2010
Very helpful little book,though I would not describe it as "pocket sized" as it's study structure made it a little heavy for a pocket. I found it very informative and particularly liked the suggestions on how to spend your day when exploring with the "morning and afternoon" guides making it much easier to plan each day. The maps in the front and back of the book were useful, the pull-out one I had difficulty in reading, you need good eyes!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2010
DK's Top10 guides are all good to have with you on a holiday. All of these have certain info that you will not even find from other products, for example this one has the "hidden Venice" section. Maps in Top10 guides could be better but you'll anyways want to get a bigger map - good to start with. ISnt heavy, fits your pocket.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2010
This was a very useful, compact book highlighting the most important sites in Venice. It was small enough to stick in the wife's bag and large enough to contain all that we needed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)