Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



on 8 August 2014
This is a fascinating book, backing up with neurological evidence, the styles of parenting which benefit and those which can damage our children.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2013
Very easy and informative. Would highly recommend any parent to be to read. Gives a real insight to a child's thought processes and reasoning.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
Another book that should be given out to all parents by the NHS or studied in schools. This book helps parents understand how their child is developing emotionally and does it all from a strong research base. The book gives researched explanations to each side of various parenting dilemmas giving the long term and short term effects, enabling parents to make informed decisions about their children also giving powerful examples of how techniques, which are promoted in other books, involving leaving a baby to cry can have a detrimental effect of babies brain development and affect them emotionally into adulthood. Sunderland also takes the same approach to play and rough and tumble, not just telling parents what to do in a prescriptive way but explaining why these things will be good for their child and their relationship.

The book also explains why children do things we find confusing explaining what underlies tantrums and why children can struggle with extreme happiness. it also gives clear explanations as to why young children can't share and don't have empathy and gives suggestions to deal with this that don't involve shaming the child and focus on supporting the child with difficult emotions and to help them understand them. the only part of this book I disagreed with was the suggestion of using sticker charts to get children to stay in their own beds. This would be a book that I would recommend to other parents due to the strong research base and understandable explanations of complex topics.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2013
Amazing! Indeed WHAT EVERY PARENT SHOULD KNOW for any age. Extremely recommended :)
Do not miss this book. Dont let it pass by you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2010
A truly fascinating book which covered child development in the way "mother used to do it" while side by side explaining the scientific basis for brain development and hence a rationale for children's behaviour.
A must not only for parents but grandparents too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2013
We find this book one of the most helpful books we have read for a long time
I am buying copies for my friends

John
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
Really good for prospective adopters, who havent had children of there own, informative, and a very easy read. Highly recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2013
Brilliant professionally and as a parent! I will be recommending it to everyone and my work has already ordered their copy :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2015
Brought for my work. it will be very useful and would recommend anyone to purchase it if they work with children and parents.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2011
This is the most amazing book. It is full of advice on how to bring up a happy healthy child and scientific evidence to back up these recommendations. I just wish I'd bought it when I was pregnant instead of wasting my time listening to and reading about methods which it's clear are detrimental to your child in the long run.

Buy it as an investment in your relationship with your child.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)