Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
16
4.8 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 February 2008
With the Classic DK line up of previous books and high standard from them, you would expect the Complete Star Wars Visual Dictionary to be fully laden with information from all the previous books. Alas, this is not the case but it does include the Visual Dictionaries from Episodes 1 to 3 and a shorter version for Episodes 4 to 6 (original Trilogy). Having said that, it does have some extra information on R2D2 and the Sarlacc but misses out on the Y-wings, A and B-Wings as well as the Empire craft but since these are on earlier books it does not matter as much.
It is still great fun to read and to look at and a Star Wars fan will love it and it will get you in the mood to see the films again. I also loved the Cutaway of a Lighsaber and comparing the Lightsabers of Episode 3 and 4 (Obi Wan's and Anakin's with Luke's are the same and should be). I think that the same detail on the Trilogy would have made this more enjoyable but I am a purist in this matter. Even though the latter part has lost some of the information and the earlier is the same, you do get some extra snippets of information that were cut from the film at a later point (Luke watching the battle above his skies of the Blockade Runner being captured by the Imperial Destroyer). The Clone Troops and Stormtroopers info are very good, as well as the Characters but again you will not find out too much about Han Solo, Chewy or the Later life of Obi-Wan (Ben) Kenobi. In this book, you get to see the downfall of the Galactic Republic (it was already falling in Episode 1) to it's downfall and the rise of the Rebel Allience and final fall of the Empire.
If you can't get hold of the originals (or they are too expensive to buy sperately) then buy a copy today.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this book on a whim and enjoyed it so much. It's got a lot packed into it, and it's a fairly slim book! I actually bought it same time as The Ultimate Visual Guide to Star Wars by Ryder Windham (the one with Darth Vader on the cover), and to be honest, it's a much better book; because it serves not just as a visual dictionary, but as a visual guide to boot. Well worth buying for any Star Wars lover out there!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2007
This is an essential item for any young (or older)fan of Star Wars. The images are superb quality and the amount of information is exhaustive. A really beautiful addition to any bookshelf and worth every penny spent.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2009
Excellent book for Star Wars fans - this was bought for a five year old boy who loves it!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2011
I purchased this book because my 5 year old grandson loves watching and looking at anything about Star Wars and I thought this would become one of his favourite books; I was not wrong. He now knows all about the characters and the sequence of them in the storylines. It is his favourite book that he will bring to you to read to him and I hope it will encourage him to read it himself as he becomes a more confident reader.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 July 2008
Star Wars: The Complete Visual Dictionary (DK Visual Dictionaries)
The pictures in the book are great. The text leaves much to be desired. The text is hightly repetitious. It is like a different person wrote each page, but didn't read the pages that the others wrote. If your technically oriented, don't read the text, as it is better to believe in the illusion that the things will work rather than to know that they wont. In addition, page 104 of the copy sent by Amazon, the ink had bled in the printing press. Fortunatly the image was only slightly smuged, but the text under the bleed is illegible - but no great loss from my point of view.

If you have no other books on star wars then this one will provide enough information to remind you of the characters so you can talk to you kids about them. If, like us, you want lots of pictures, the book is great. But given the ink bleed on page 104, it is a book you may like to preview in a shop rather than buy on-line as there appears to be a quality control issue for the publisher.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2011
My 7 Year Old is totally into Star Wars - This is the book for you - EVery character and episode really well covered and lots of photos and graphics. Typical DK excellence. The writing a bit over the top for my liking which makes reading it at bed time a bit of a chore, but it keeps with the Lucasfilm magic so my son loves it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Hello fellow buyers,

This book was bought as a gift. Dispite it only as a brief resumee of (almost) all the important characters of the Star Wars films, it still holds a tremendous value because the book is really of a good quality printout, and has a nice size.

In one word - recommended.

Cheers everyone!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2010
.. he got this for a present and his is always reading it. If your kids love Star Wars then this is the book for them. Jam packed with everything they need to know. I would say that it is aimed more age 9+, but younger kids will enjoy looking at the pictures. The quality of the book is very good and there are lots of pictures, it isn't just page after page of writing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2010
I bought this book as a birthday pressie for my 6 year old nephew. He absolutely loves it and I have to admit my brother-in-law and I love it too. Excellent!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse