Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
31
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 July 2001
This is the ideal book for all those youngsters out there that love animals! It gives reference to animals from all over the world and there habitat and feeding requirements! It also gives info on there behaviour and ability to camoflage themseves. The great thing about this book is it's ability to find the animal your looking for easily with it's A to Z format. Give this book to any animal lover and they will be reading for hours! The info you can find out about the animal kingdom from this Encyclopedia is outstanding. But then it is published by Dorling Kindersley! My friends daughter has this book and has read nothing since! She is inspired especially by the excellent photography.With clear, colourful pictures of the animals, you can't help but read up about the animals! When you do, the information also lives up to your expectations. This is an ideal book to find out almost everything you need to know about animals from little birds to big elephants and a lot more! This book is also perfect for topics at school concerning animals. The Teachers will be impressed by there wealth of information on a particular species! So, over all a particularly excellent Encyclopedia that you just shouldn't be without!
0Comment| 58 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 August 2004
Bought for my granddaughter aged 7 years. I feel it is rather large for small hands and wish the brightly coloured jacket was more durable. However the encyclopaedia itself is a source of joy and education. A very good introduction to reference books
and how to use them. My granddaughter turns to it whenever she has questions, without prompting. She is constantly showing off her knowledge.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2007
Animal Encyclopaedia (Dk Encyclopaedia) provides a journey to the animal kingdom from a variety of environments, which include mountains, forests, jungles, rivers, oceans and seas. All the species you can think off are covered comprehensively in the guide, which include different species of sharks, wild cats, wild dogs, seals, dolphins, fish seals, and so on. The list seems endless. Details is included of each species in terms of appearances and locations. Details about various environments are also included. Pictures are included as well. The concise text and pictures will enhance interest for readers. It feels though you are part of the animal kingdom.

Animal Encyclopaedia (Dk Encyclopaedia)is a guide which gives you the opportunity to appreciate and be really proud of the animal kingdom. If you are passionate about the animal kingdom, this guide will satisfy your taste.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
This is the type of book I would have loved as a child and I was probably more into it then my children! I got this used but in very good condition with only slight tear to spine that probably happened in transit. The book is hardback unlike what someone else stated. It's the perfect addition to my growing little educational library that will be useful for many years to come.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2010
I bought this book as a present for my granddaughter who is currently obsessed with animals. The book is perfect for her and seems to have been designed for young children. Each page contains lots of pictures of animals with a small description for each one so there's lots to see and not much reading - ideal for children in the 5 to 8 age groups.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2009
This is an excellent book, my four year old little boy loves it, it answers all his questions about animals, sadly lacking from his other general encyclopedia.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
I chose this for my niece who is always asking about animals and loves going to the zoo. The layout of the book is really user friendly and is very clear. The pages have lots of information yet it is really well presented and easy to follow. A star buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2013
What an amazingly informative book about animals and even insects! All animals from A - Z are in this book along with plenty of photos, information and insight into the animal kingdom. A must have for anyone with children!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2013
This book was bought for a 7 year old who loves animals. He thought it was fabulous. It seemed to be just at the right level. It was well laid out with some stunning photography.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2012
This is NOT a hardback book. It is even described on the publishers website and others as a Paperback. Despite this it is a lovely book, nice pictures and very well laid out. Was very disappointed it is not as described.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse