Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 August 2005
If, like most people you learn by visual references, then you'll find this book a great way to increase your French vocabulary. Each word has a picture associated with it, which I find makes it much easier to learn from.
Words are grouped by subject, and not alphabetically. So it's not a good dictionary (although there is an index), but it is good if you want to increase your vocabulary in certain areas.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2009
As a graduate of french I wish this book had been available at the time I was learning the language. It really is excellent and it's hard to explain how good it is as it just has the same words in it as any other dictionary.

However the visual approach coupled with the compartmentalisation into intuitive categories which largely map to activities/events in daily life is alluring and persuasive - to the point that when you pick it up you almost don't want to put it down because you're drawn into looking at all the related words of a topic. In short, where with a traditional dictionary you use it to look up individual words, the visual french approach allows you to do the same but then see all the related vocabulary pointed out to you, e.g. you want to know what eyebrow is in french - no problem, but then you get to see the words for all the other features of the face - and body if you want.

Two final things. 1) a small criticism - for words beginning with a vowel you're not told the gender of the noun 2) the book of course needs to be complemented with other reference books as it focuses mainly on nouns - nevertheless, an excellent addition to any reference library on the french language.
11 comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2007
This book is really useful especially when shopping - if you don't feel confident enough to attempt the pronunciation you can point to the picture to make yourself understood. As has been mentioned it will help to enlarge your vocabulary. This book attracted much interest from friends and family - I thought I might not get it back. Buy it, you won't regret it, as they say, a picture says a thousand words.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
I bought this on request for someone as a present. They were pleased with it, but I found it a little disappointing. Although it is perhaps designed to be portable, I didn't expect it to be as small as it is.

Also, some of the French, while strictly correct, is not current usage. For example, I have never heard a sat nav called anything but a gps. Although beautifully produced with superb illustrations, the print is a bit small for anything but daylight or really good lighting for reading, especially if you have to wear glasses.

Overall, a good try, and most people would find it useful.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is brilliant. English to French with pictures of everything. Useful if you're not sure of the english term, or if you are faced with something and don't know what it is in either language. Not too strong on phrases, but then it's dictionary; and if you are using it for travelling as we did, you'll want extra information about French road signs. Great when shopping, and if you get really stuck (or if you are "talking" to another tourist who doesn't speck French or English) you can point. Nicely produced as are most DK books.

Recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2009
This book is absolutely brilliant. We found it to be really great, exactly what we needed for your trip to France and it will assist us in our everyday translations from English to French.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2012
I am French and have bought this book for my girlfriend who is Russian and wants to learn my language and perform her English. The concept is really good: good quality pictures, vocabulary organized by themes, good range of words without too many useless words. Some translations, in French and in English, are approximate or just wrong yet. That is a pity. I would advise to purchase it anyways as it is user-friendly and can be very helpful in many situations.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2009
We were leaving for France that night.With this in his pocket my partner had the confidence to get straight into French speaking on the ferry across.We both knew that we could not get stuck because the picture idea is brilliant.On holiday we had several sessions of just scouting through the book to see what the words were. He was amazed at how un-frightening the language was and after 3 days said he was glad that the book had helped and he now wanted to study it further.The "can do" factor is a key to feeling comfy with the language. Totally great for youngsters. Keeps interest there as varied selection of subjects.Phrases good also.Quick essential learning.Thank you lots for writing this guide.Definate good value for money Christine Arthur, well done.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2009
This is an excellent book for people with learning difficulties who learn better with visual aids.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
Really easy to follow. Explains what things are. All verbs etc in back. Very interesting. Makes you want to look at all pages but can only take in so much at a time. Recommended by my French tutor, would definitely recommend.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)