Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
13
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
11
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.78+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 June 2017
Love the book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2006
It is the insight and the remarkably deft choice of words to convey this insight which marks out Robert Cumming's work as unique amongst all of the books on art I have ever come across. He says it as he sees it, and he sees it through crystal clear eyes. It is a wonderful gift.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2006
This gem of a book an ideal companion when walking round galleries. It is everything one would look for in such a companion - lucid, witty, provocative and thoughtful. Robert Cumming has a unique ability to relate art, its artists and its subjects to the real world.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I am interested in art , in its various forms , so I thought I would buy this book for something to read in my free evenings . It is a typical DK publication , full of information and very good illustrations of the various historic paintings ranging upto the modern styles . A very pleasing book to read and view .
I think people who like art should buy this book . It is not of a large format and can be carried easily in a bag , for instance .
Very good book .
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2012
I couldn't have survived my college course without this handy companion! A great little book, which helped me to understand the various 'isms' of the art world, and introduced me to some superb artists.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2015
It is a wonderfully illustrated Companion..Here Art can be seen as a whole experience in human history, and it gives essential artists' biographies through Painting's path.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2009
Would definately recommend for those interested in art. Detailed information on art movements and artists, as well as their work. 5/5.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2015
This book was ideal for my daughters course work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2013
first delivery came damaged, second came ok. book provides a shortish summary of the major works, giving the author's brief views on the works. clearly cannot cover everything, but nonetheless useful
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2015
Excellent book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)