Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 June 2017
I bought a second hand copy of this book from Massive Books. The condition of the book was stated as good and the book I received was the same as a new book after I have used it for about a week. Second hand books through Amazon continue to amaze me.

The book itself is large and the paper quality is good. Clear modern fonts and nice quality relevant photographs. Especially pleased that the Chinese section is by Hen Hom, the man of the Wok in the UK for decades. I have only scratched the surface with this book at the moment, but suffice to say it is big, comprehensive and so far seems to be written by people who know what they are talking about!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
Useful book - but somewhat heavy for my small kitchen What about a Book stand that would fit on kitchen counter?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 17 January 2006
The Cook’s Book is quite a tome - in the most positive sense.
In size it is large format, over 600 pages and packed with colour. The production standards are extremely high.
In scope it has chapters – each penned by a different author – on a wide variety of topics. Some are obvious, being themed around ingredients – Bread, Meat, Fish, but others cover styles of cooking, such as Japanese or Mexican. The length of the chapters are dictated by the use that the authors assume will be made of the topic. Thus the Fish chapter is long, the Mexican chapter short.
The authors are an international bunch, many of whom I’d not heard, but others (such as Shaun Hill or Marcus Wareing) are quite well-known in the UK. The standards are excellent throughout irrespective of the author.
As well as having recipes this book is also a “how to” manual with many pages on techniques – e.g. for making stocks or filleting types of fish. All processes are well illustrated. There are also many handy tips. So, for how long should I roast my salmon fillet? The answer is quickly found - 10 minutes per inch of thickness.
It also scores in having a good mix of “staple” as well as “fancy” recipes, thus making this not just a special occasion book, nor one in which the authors feel they have to show off.
For me the test of a good cookbook is whether I enjoy reading it for pleasure and whether I cook from it.
Well, it’s a joy to read (although not a narrative in the way of Nigel Slater’s Kitchen Diaries). And within the first week I’d cooked a number of recipes – chicken stock and chicken jus, oatcakes, gravadlax and venison in a walnut, sour cherry and cinnamon sauce. All were straightforward, easy to follow, recipes and provided excellent results.
This book has, at a stroke, become my first point of call when I want to cook something or find out how to approach a cooking task.
Highly recommended.
0Comment| 79 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
'3 stars? Really?' you say. On the surface this is a great book and has some great chefs contributing. I will admit it looks splendid and whilst quite large to take to bed I will admit I use this book as food porn at night to give me something to salivate over. Beautifully presented and the layout and pics are fantastic. But..... whilst I have only tried a fraction of the recipes so far they all come out disappointingly bad or at best a mediocre Delia Smith! Sorry to say but if the proof is in the pudding this pudding doesn't have the proof! Won't stop me salivating over the pics though!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2007
this book has been a mainstay in my kitchen since I bought it a year ago. Its is more for technique than recipes, and there is almost every technique in cooking that I can think of. The recipes that are included are often "signature dishes" of the contributing chefs which is great, plus lots of step by step photos which I think is very important when learning a new skill.

The dark chocolate mousse recipe in there is simply sublime...and works every time..!! Try it and you won't be disappointed...plus it only takes 1 hour to chill...!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2010
There have been mixed reviews on this, and although this book won't leave you cooking cordon bleu, it will guide you very thoroughly through a lot of basic to intermeidate techniques which will certainly help towards building more advanced culinary skills.

It doesnt assume a certain level of experience before you start, so explains every step with excellent pictures and tips in the most basic language.

I have had this book for about 10 years, and have called upon it so many times. It doesnt always have the breadth of recipes I would like, missng off some real classics that I would have expected in a cook book of this size, but that is more than made up for with the skills I have learnt from it and been able to apply elsewhere.

I will continue to use this as a first point of reference for mastering techniques and for recipes.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2005
This is an awesome culinary resource.
It is filled with an wide variety of informative chapters: sauces, starters, cakes, creams, pastries, and poulty; supplimented by a nice collection of chapters that focus on innovative, international cuisine.
While general cooking guides often only briefly skirt each subject; every chapter from The Cook's Book provides detailed investigation. At no point have I felt deprived of necessary information.

The clean, almost clinical DK style used to its full potential. Great recipies sit along side technicalities, tips and tricks, optional extras, and interesting narrative.
The wonderfully bright layout makes the preparation of the recipes appear very manageable; presenting all of information with reassuring clarity.
I am sure that The Cook's Book will become more valuable to me as I make my way though its recipies. I am also sure that it will continue produce suprises, regardless of how many times it is read.
It makes me want to cook. What more positive a compliment could there be?
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2005
A cook book for everyone! One that clearly shows how to prepare and cook basic food as well as more advanced (which I thought would be more difficult) dishes. However, as this is a book with step-by-step instructions and pictures to follow, one cannot fail.
As it includes recipes by many different chefs, one certainly gets the best. With easy reading text and lots of hints and tips, one cannot fail in the kitchen with this one.
This is definitely one of my favorite cook books.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2006
This is not a bad book, but covering cookery technique has been done better elsewhere. I would particularly recommend the Cordon Bleu "Cooks' Bible" or Leith's "Techniques Bible" as they contain more substance. Using a variety of 'big name' chefs is a bit of a novelty - you can tell that they don't really have time to be writing the book and there is not really enough space for them to actually cover their subject - for example, oriental cooking gets just a few pages.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2005
One of my favourite Christmas presents this year!
I totally agree with all the previous rave reveiws of this book.
It gives thorough, detailed instructions on a host of cooking basics as well as more advanced recipes, but manages to do so without appearing patronising.
I can already see this will become one of the most well-thumbed cookbooks in my kitchen!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here