Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 April 2017
Excellent book. Everything you need to get started.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2004
If you have an interest in learning the mechanics of astrology this book is for you. Whether you want to train to become a professional or just the tools to draw and interpret birthcharts for family and friends, you will find Parkers' Astrology indispensible.
It is written simply enough for the complete beginner to easily get to grips with the complexities of astrology. Yet it also contains such detailed information that the experienced practitioner will refer to it regularly.
For in depth interpretation, you will want other books but this is the clearest explanation of the techniques that you can find.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2014
A great book - comprehensive study material for the budding astrologer and those already following that path. It is well presented and consistently informative.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2004
For anyone starting out, this is an excellent general introduction to the whole of astrology. All things considered it is also probably the best. Over 15 years ago, a very similar volume by the Parkers was one of the books from which I learnt the basics of astrology. Their style is accessible, imaginative, and not too heavy. Their latest offering in late 2003 is first class.
Whether you are interested in basic Sun sign characteristics, basic chart interpretation, prediction techniques, relationship or re-location astrology, its all here. The book is divided into five sections, which includes detailed tables for drawing up charts. Beginners should not be put off by the long section on the complexities of chart calculation, even though this is useful information. It is of course very easy to get a copy of your natal chart done by computer, and start from there.
The often beautiful illustrations and pictures add considerably to the quality information in Parkers Astrology. It certainly makes the process of learning astrology easier on the eye! I recommend this book for the beginner, perhaps together with one of the more "serious" introductions, such as The Classic Guide To Astrology by Ron Davison or "Chart Interpretation Handbook" by Stephen Arroyo.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2004
An old saying goes: Aim for the moon, at least if you miss you'll land inthe stars. The world has a fascination with astrology and if you'reinterested in venturing beyond the daily horoscope column in yourfavourite magazine/newspaper to find out more this interesting field"Parkers' Astology" is definitely worth the read.
As a beginner in the area of astrology this book was recommended to me asa good staring point. And I can see why. The beautiful illustrations bringthe ideas in the text to life and often clear up anything that is not atfirst obvious. The text is well written and concise, and in a style thatis accessable to both the beginner and anyone who has some experience withastrology. The authors touch on a number of topics in astrology and thereis a useful bibliography so that you can further your own studies. I wasvery pleased to note that the authors also encourage the reader toquestion the information presented to them and to go and find out more -not just to accept things at face value.
The section on chart calculations I found a bit daunting and rushed inparts and often had to take a break or come back to something that Ididn't understand. It is by no means impossible though and many computerprogrammes are able to generate charts for you. The idea is that youunderstand the principles.
I continue to enjoy using this book and it is an excellent doorway intothe field of astrology. Enjoy it.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2001
For anyone starting out, this is an excellent general introduction to the whole of astrology. Some 15 years ago, a very similar volume by the Parkers was one of the books from which I learnt the basics of astrology. Their style is accessible, imaginative, and not too heavy.
Whether you are interested in basic Sun sign characteristics, basic chart interpretation, prediction techniques, or which sign rules mulberries and bilberries (Sagittarius apparently!), its all here. The book is divided into four sections, which includes detailed tables for drawing up charts. Beginners should not be put off by the long section on the complexities of chart calculation, even though this is useful information. It is of course very easy to get a copy of your natal chart done by computer, and start from there.
The often beautiful illustrations and pictures add considerably to the quality information in Parkers Astrology. It certainly makes the process of learning astrology easier on the eye! I recommend this book for the beginner, perhaps together with one of the more "serious" introductions, such as The Classic Guide To Astrology by Ron Davison.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2000
This is the most comprehensive book ever for beginers. I have read this book a thousand times and still keep going back to it again and again. The user has to make sense of the chart using intuition for the chart they have produced. but the explinations of all planets in House and Aspect are extreamly well written Thumbs up for this Book,Worth every pennie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2010
I'm writing a book about an astrologer. I know nothing about the principals of the subject at all so I asked an astrologer what would be the best book to get. I need to know every aspect of the subject. She put me onto this book. I looked through it and find it's used by practicing astrologers because it holds information they need to practice their art over years. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone wishing to learn the subject properly; it's facinating. Maybe I'll get hooked.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2010
I bought this as a 50th birthday present for the father of my best friend, and i can certainly say it was one of his favourite gifts!
For any keen or budding astrologer this book is more than perfect. It describes every concept and practice of astrology in necessary detail, however it is not overcomplicated and is still easy to understand and follow. The sections dedicated to each star sign are wonderful and in-depth, and the birth-chart mapping chapter is brilliantly explained and a pleasure to follow. The dust jacket is beautifully presented and the illustrations throughout are simply stunning. The size of the book is impressive and it has a good weight to it- It looks and feels expensive!

All in all this book proved to be a very cherished and loved gift, as i know my friends father carries it everywhere with him! My father saw the book in my room before it was wrapped and asked very nicely if he could have one for christmas! highly recommended indeed!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2011
This is the first Astrology book I have ever read, the quality of information, pictures and the way that the book is written is superb
As a beginner in studying Astrology I have found so far that this book offers the right amount of information.
Parkers' Astrology
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)