Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 March 2013
One I remember from my own childhood. Reading this to my son now, it does look a little aged in the illustrations, but the simplicity and honesty of it, along with Hargreaves jolly wit, makes the story still enjoyable to read. With all the harshness of modern life (do our children see it as we do, or will they look back on their childhoods' as innocently as we do ours?) I find myself seeking out only the most positive children's books to share, I guess in the hope that our kids have at least a few years without experiencing great amounts of worry. Mr. Happy fits the bill nicely in this respect and being available on Kindle makes it all the better. Now I can carry the kids' whole library to bed with us at story time!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2017
When people sell older tapes they should check them before sending them out. This squeaked all the way through on both sides. Not happy. Waste of money
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
Wonderful fun books for little ones.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Love them
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2017
Arrived quick well packaged, the classic Mr Men series were recommended by a friend who teaches pre school, and the book is ideal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
As described !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 February 2010
In his third work, Mr Happy, Hargreaves takes us on a Jungian journey to the integrated self.

The story starts by introducing us to the supposedly perfect life that our eponymous hero appears to live - the tranquilized bliss and counterfeit euphoria of Happyland. Yet what is it that leads Mr Happy to wander away from an existence that, if truly flawless, should suffice to satisfy and sustain him? Why this need to venture deep into the mysterious unknown of the forest? To open a door in a tree-trunk and descend a staircase beneath the ground to the deepest recesses of the unconscious?

Here lays the crux of this exploration of analytical psychology - the defining happiness of our central character is revealed as nothing more than a persona. His name and outward appearance are a mask to the outside world and from himself. It is the very inauthenticity of this state of affairs that drives him on the voyage to seek out and confront the root of the dissonance that this generates within him.

For indeed, what does he come face-to-face with at the foot of these stairs but his own repressed sadness? This comes in the form of his miserable alter ego - physically identical, polar opposite in mood. It is only through this confrontation with the shadow that his unsustainable persona can find authentic resolution and true integration of the self be achieved. These archetypes are quite literally brought to light as Mr Happy coaxes Mr Miserable up to the surface and into view of the conscious mind in a climax of now genuine peace and bliss.

In a knowing nod to his source material, Hargreaves depicts Mr Happy as round - a shape he shares with the mandala.
88 Comments| 122 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2013
Wow amazing you learn a very very good amazing life lesson from that book bye poppy Molly kilbey xxx wow
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2000
This book will make you smile. This book is the first book in the Mr. Men series that I read and it made me fan of Roger Hargreaves. This is not just a book for children it is a book for adults as well. The perfect book to read after a hard day's work. The book will do the same to you as it does to Mr Miserable it will make you turn your mouth up at the corners and smile.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Loving these Mr Men books! Our grandson aged 4 and a half is mesmerised by the Mr Men, he knows every one by name and is learning to read with the books. We have the whole set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse