Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
8
4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
0
3 star
2
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 June 2011
This is a book filled with anecdotal philosophy extracted from Lemony Snicket's `Series of unfortunate events' chronicles (a must-read). It provides deep insight and practical advice on many things from bullying (page 39) to bereavement (page 111) and should be on the shelves of every school library and carried in the coat pocket of everyone. A truly remarkable read.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2007
This is another great book by Lemony Snicket, however it is different from the rest. This one is full of nothing but quotations, or pieces of advice, of pure wisdom from a number of authors. It also includes a story about a young woman. All of these pieces of advice have morals and so do the stories. It is a nice book that you could dip in and out of.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2012
This book is a collection of passages and phrases from the Series of Unfortunate Events. Thbe quotes are witty and interesting, but taken out of the context of the series, they lose some of their punch.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2013
After borrowing this book from my friend, I decided that it was the sort of book you just have to own a copy of, to refer to every so often for guidance. I must say, for what was once a library book, this was in impeccable condition and showed little to no signs of being pre-loved (apart from the sellotape on the cover to prevent it from fraying, but I do that to my books anyway.)
The book arrived on time and I've just finished re-reading it.
Thank you :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
This book contains all of the wit that has become synonymous with the name "Lemony Snicket". I must warn you though, don't purchase this book if you're looking for a continuation of the "A Series of Unfortunate Events" series...this is merely a book of proverbs, divided up into several parts, each dealing with a different topic e.g. Family. The proverbs are witty, and in-keeping with Snicket's signature style. If you're a Snicket fan, go for it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2008
A darkly witty volume full of interesting, bizarre and ultimately very sensible truths. Each page has either a quotation or a paragraph of wisdom, and for easy reference the book is separated into sections such as Home, School, Work, Entertainment, Affairs of the Heart, etc. If you are a fan of the series due to Handler's superb narrative technique then this book won't leave you disappointed.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2013
I have always liked Lemony Snicket and think more children should be exposed to his work. This book is more for adults with childish thoughts - I loved it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2015
Nice book although incase you didn't know this is a book of quotes and advice from lemony Snicket not any of his fantastic novels
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse