Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
13
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2012
this is the second book in the series and it continues the story, its a great read and you get caught up with the story
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2006
being plunged into the world of seeker, morning star and the wildman happens rapidly as you read this book. Mr Nicholsons fine resume bears out as both the excitement of a hollywod film and a deep searching for truth blend seamlessly into this compelling narrative. This is unmissable stuff!! after reading Seeker i continued straight into Jango and I know that I will be waiting eagerly for the final book of the trilogy.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2005
If like me, you loved the Wind on Fire trilogy then William Nicholson's latest book will not disappoint. However, Seeker is nothing like the Wind on Fire; the story has echoes of modern day themes - race hate, religious fanatacism and weapons of mass destruction; making this story vastly different from the previous trilogy.
Focusing on three very different characters, Nicholson weaves a captivating story with intertwining plotlines that come together seamlessly at the end. While some questions are answered for each the end of the book paves the way for the next instalment and I find myself full of anticipation and hope it will not be a long wait.
Buy this book, William Nicholson should not be unread.
0Comment| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2006
I absolutely loved this book but I don't think the synopsis does it justice. Seeker doesn't try to stand against them althought he is turned upside down by what he sees them doing to his brother. But he sets out to JOIN them, if only to find out the truth (and doining justice to his name-Seeker after Truth!)It's a wonderful book that weaves several different charecters together into one wonderful book, and it shows you how several charecters start to mature as they try to reach their goal.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2006
I had read the Wind on Fire trilogy before this and I thought that was good so I read this one. It is really brilliant - maybe even better than the other trilogy. Seeker - full name Seeker after truth, wants to be a Noma. The Noma are a lot of people who are awesome and strong and all that. One day, Seeker goes into the public part of the Noma place and finds that his brother's (who is a Noma) memory is being wiped. He feels really angry and joins up with Morning Star and Wildman (who also want to be Nomas) and try to destroy the secret weapon in the city of Radiance so that the Nomana will accept them. There is an unexpected ending - which adds to the emotion! So if you haven't already read it, try and get hold of it!
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 11 February 2007
Seeker (full name Seeker after Truth) has dreamed, his whole life, of becoming a Nomana, a Noble Warrior. A protector of the All and Only, the god who made all things. The desire to be one has only grown stronger since his brother, Blaze of Justice, became a Noble Warrior. Seeker knows that this is his destiny, never mind that his father expects him to become Teacher. Now he is sixteen, old enough to go before the Nom and offer himself, and hope that they accept him.

Morning Star is the daughter of a sheep herder. Years ago her mother left them to become a Noble Warrior. Now, on her sixteenth birthday, Morning Star intends to leave the hills she's always known, and join her mother in service to the All and Only. Her only worry is leaving her father; she is his world. She's not too worried about being denied by the Nomana; after all her mother is a Noble Warrior. If that's not enough, there are the colors. The colors surround all people, and change a little based on someone's mood and intentions, but everyone has colors around them. Morning Star can see them, and has learned to read them. She will journey to Anacrea to find her destiny.

Wildman has never known his family. He's never even really known friendship, or loyalty, or honor. He certainly doesn't know about the All and Only. All he's ever known is survival at any cost. In the midst of an attempted robbery, Wildman encounters a Nomana, though he doesn't know what that is. What he knows is that he's glimpsed a power far stronger than his own, and a peace he never imagined. Wildman wants these things, and what Wildman wants, Wildman always gets. He too will offer his services to the Nom, though he doesn't really think of it in those exact terms.

A stranger, more disjointed group could hardly be imagined. But through drastically unexpected circumstances, a group they become. As it turns out, they can all learn an awful lot from each other. Maybe they can even help each other. Maybe they can even save Anacrea and the Nomana from the threat of their enemies. If they can survive their journey, they may even find their destinies.

A wonderfully, beautifully, frighteningly well-imagined world, full of strong and interesting characters. No one is one sided; Morning Star is strong but capable of vulnerability, Seeker is determined but still scared sometimes, and Wildman is primal but lovable. Actually, I think Wildman is my favorite character.

This is so many different stories all in one great book. It's a story of strength and power. It's a story about friendship and loyalty and family. It's a story about faith and destiny. It's a story about life, and a story about people. It may not take place anywhere you could recognize, but all of the characters contain bits and pieces you see in other people and in yourself. The bad and the good. The best part is, it doesn't end here. This is only book one. I don't know how many there will be, but I'm very much looking forward to all of them.

Reviewed by: Carrie Spellman
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 August 2009
Our family is always reading together *quality* fantasy literature.

To us the most under-praised and under-publicized fantasy trilogy of all is "The Noble Warriors," in three volumes-- Seeker: Book One of the Noble Warriors, Jango: Book Two of the Noble Warriors, and Noman: Book Three of the Noble Warriors.

It's about two teen boys (Seeker and Wildman) and one teen girl, (Morning Star), and it soars, with evocativeness and compassion and even tenderness, into their fantasy civilization's politics, hypocrisy, authoritarianism, homeless underclass, gangs, wars, and above all these sensitive teen's heroism and their spirituality -- their engagement with each other, fraudulent cults, barbarous religion (including human sacrifice), peaceful (and magical) monasticism, and their true spiritual seeking.

It touches seamlessly and coherently on so many deftly interwoven themes. It is absolutely action-packed entertaining, audaciously intelligent, adventurous, deeply reflective, much too-little known, and a simply stunning achievement.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2008
Ive just finished the third book.. all my questions answered, and frankly the whole story from 1st book to last is amazing. the people Seeker After Truth meets in the first book, are with him til the end, htey come and go with their separate missions.

There are sections in all the books. so theyre would be 6 or 7 chapters and an intermediate bit with a confusing statement which makes you continually wonder what it means. and throughout the 3books, these sections still come up and slowly through Seekers journey, he does his namesake and seeks the truth, finds the truth ans is change by this truth, through the immense power his is given.

the 3 books are addictive, and it is a well written story, and the immagination in it is phenomenal.. its like a whole other world, whole other beiefs.. yet so mordern in a sense.

i ahvent read the wind on fire series. but im thinkig i should.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2006
I hadn't read and of Nicholson's books before this one, but straight away I found myself loving his work.

Seeker has finally come of age to join the Noble Warriors - the Nomana, a duty he has forever wanted to serve. However, when his brother is disgraced by the magical cult, Seeker finds himself rejected from the order and yet he refuses to give up hope of becoming one of these great beings. Joined by two other Companions, Morning Star and Wildman, Seeker, living up to his name, searches for another way to be accepted and protect his people. The road he choses is not an easy, but he knows if he is ever to truely gain his goals he must follow his heart, and listen to the words he once heard among the "garden" ---> "Where your way lies the door is always open".

A gripping story, showing characters willing to do what they must to achieve their goals. Full on energy and witty dialog, the novel carries the very esence of human nature and of an adventure you can never truely forget.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2015
The trilogy as a whole was very good, and worth reading.

I had read the Wind On Fire trilogy prior to this, and the Noble Warriors Trilogy doesn't quite hit the same standard. I also felt like some of the themes and issues tackled, and even the manner in which they were done, were a little too similar.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here